Food glorious food


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily
December 1st 2005
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

England and Scotland

I spent a short time in the UK climatizing to the cold cold weather a verrrrrrrry big change from my warm days in India, as cold as it was I enjoyed the christmas lights and frosty mornings, roaming around, shopping until after dark, well lets say it was really afternoon, I didn't realise how quickly it gets dark. I stayed with my cousin Sofia and enjoyed hanging out, dining, chatting and getting to know her partner Marcus. They live right in the city centre so it was ever so convenient to shop around and soak up the London vibe without even having to catch the tube....My fellow travel mate Michelle had returned from her world trip and of course we hooked up and caught up on the last couple of months, its amazing how you can connect with people in such a short time.

I headed to Scotland and visited Glasgow and Edinburgh meet some really lovely people in the short time that I was there, soaked in the sights and went on a small adventure to find an old cemetery where my mothers, mother is buried. It was a pity that I didn't have more time as Scotland is truely a magical country but as I always say there is always a next time.......

Rome

I finally met up with darling Mou Angela, she was patiently waiting hours after I had been delayed due to bad weather, in the end I arrived safely but minus my luggage, we spent our days roaming around the city, and catching up on the last 5 months and of course we ate and drank, after a few days in Rome we made our way down to Sicily and had a few stopovers, Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Atari. Italy truly has a beautiful coastline and I think best visited in the summer season, besides Sorrento all the other coastal areas were almost ghost towns nevertheless the sea and vistas were just as beautiful and silence that instilled them just magical.

Sicily

Did I say cold, OMG it was colder than the UK doesn't seem possible but it was, hooked up with the family and spent the festive season eating, eating and eating, how they stay slim I do not know but the food was lush, I went cheese crazy.

We went off again for a few days and visted Parlemo, Ceflu and headed back for Christmas were we ate some more........Angela and I joined in on the live christmas navity set there in my mothers village Castanea Delle Furie my cousin arranges it each year (of course with the help of the locals) and goes on for about a week we were one of King Harod wives, I can't believe how many people come thru around 50,000 in a week, it is quite well organised, amusing and quite a bit of fun.

After Angela left I was left in Italian speaking only territory, as a result I was speaking a fusion of english and italian its quite amusing - brain overload but I my italian has definitely improved..

I Learnt to ride a vespa soooooo much fun, made new friends and spooked myself out........other stories to tell.

Europe has been fun, cold and a tad expensive, it was a time of reflection, family unity and togtherness, but as much as I love Europe I am looking forward to warmer less westernised environment of Central America but before I do that I am off to Canada for a week or so.

Canada

Toronto ...strange vibe, the people are weird and the whole backpackers scene is even weirder, hard to explain maybe its got something to do with the cold who knows or maybe because iy was full moon Friday 13 period (am I making excuses for them?) ......Niagara Falls was beautiful experinced a tad of snow and caught up with my friend Teri.

Vancouver

Not as strange, but love the fact that within one hour distance you can experience the snow, the harbour and forest. I went to Grouse Mountain for the day, I didn´t ski as visability was difficult (didn´t want to come backwith a broken limb) but went for a long snow walk, love the snow shoes, the whiteness and pure silence. I also went walking through stanely Park (forest territory) just beautiful, I came across a peacock, do they belong in the forest? he was making his way across the street and made himself very comfortable at the bus stop, maybe he was waiting for a ride?

I also met some really cool locals Tom and Laurina who invited me for a home cook meal, I enjoyed their hospitality they were so accommodating and sooooooo nice, I didn´t know them for a bar of soap but treated me and fed me like a queen, good company, food, wine and of course lets not forget cheese.....yummmmmm.

Yeah I am now in Mexico........... to be continued

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb