Its started


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Palermo
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a 7 hour flight full of crying babies, a neverending sunrise,and a decently boring movie I landed at London Heathrow at 6:30 am. That was promptly followed by being semi yelled at by the customs agent about the matter of my trip which woke me up. I got a crash course on the tube system, the London Underground. I found out three things. first, its hot down there. Two, It seems like you'll never reach your destination, and three they charge different prices for the same place on different lines. I rode from Heathrow to King's Cross where I planned to store my luggage. They said it would be cheaper to store at Earl's Court, which because of his accent I thought was Ascort, and sent me there. When I arrived I lugged my bags up the stairs to the street and asked a few people where it was and no one could tell me. So i got back on the tube, went to the station i needed to for my train to the other airport and apparently now the luggage company is rich, or at least they should be for how much they charge. I quick changed in the only bathroom Ive ever had to PAY to use, and got on my train to the airport. 7 hours later Im now here, in Palermo Sicilia. Its quite amazing. It took me about an hour to find my hostel since it was only marked by a small piece of paper on the door but in the process I found Italians will always help, even if they themselves dont know how to help you. I also became fluent in about three phrases. Where is, How is, and excuse me could you help me. I woke up today and ate at the hostel with some of my roommates. I left the hostel at 10 am and started walking. I stopped at a small café and worked an Italian/English mix. Good enough to get me a bottle of water and a cannolè. I kept walking and taking pictures, which will go up later, and found myself at the foot of the mountains. I looked what time it was and it was 2 pm. I figured I better turn around so I did and I stopped at the same café again for lunch. The owner taught me how to say some main things you need to know when at a café/restaurant and let me at the menu. I ordered my food and ate and before i left he gave me a canoloe "on the house" since I ordered one earlier. 2 is also when the older men get together in the parks and play cards so it was entertaining to hear them speaking and playing. They get quite emotional over a small game of cards. I came back to the hostel about 6 and then came here. I plan on finding some to eat later, lunch is 2-4 and dinner is 8-10 so i still have some time. Other than that, the italian is slowly starting to take hold as a small amount of language. We'll see tomorrow, I plan on going to a town about 20 minutes from here and going to the beach and finding out information about trains. Im sure this will be the longest of posts since it has to most to cover - hope everythings good back home

Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb