Last minute Sardinian Sun


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia » Cagliari
July 1st 2022
Published: April 23rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Yes. Last minute vacations can work. With due stress and the vagaries of trying to book cheap airline flights at ungodly hours and figure out how to get to the airport or hire cars and accommodation a few days before departure. All in all, last minute vacations are great. An unexpected spontaneous ray of mid week, much needed sunshine. On the beachfront. An entire week of glorious Sardinian sun; azure waters and open air showers. Despite my frequent posts to this blog and my profound love of words I am failing to describe how healing this week was for me. As if the sun seeped not only onto my skin, painting it several shades darker but also into my skin quenching an unidentifiable thirst for vitamins, for rest, for recuperation, for the idle joy of doing nothing. Of course I am a creature of the sea and so to be footsteps away from the water’s edge was nothing short of a dream. I swam at sunrise, at mid morning, at high noon; I swam before supper and afterward and I swam in the inky dark of the night. I showered beneath the stars and I showered with the sun beating on my back. I lay in the sand with the heat of it massaging my fatigue. I read and I wrote. I slept. I got sick. I slept some more. It did not detract from the vacation I so very much needed. I didn’t eat out much. A couple of trips to the local grocery store was all I needed to keep me happy. I indulged in an AirBnB large enough to accommodate six people; luxurious enough to have a rooftop terrace with a shower, a dining table and a lounge area. The view was spectacular. My eyes couldn’t drink in enough of that view. Even in the dark. A couple of nights I slept on the lounger under the stars, just to keep looking. And listening. And acknowledging a silent prayer of gratitude. Thank you, Sardinia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb