Travel Weary in Turin


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
May 3rd 2011
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

My room at Hotel Dock Milano
I woke up this morning and I think that the hectic-ness of the last couple of weeks had finally caught up to me. I was definitely travel weary. Even after a hearty breakfast, I was still a little sluggish. I figured that I would head out and just see how it would go. In the end, I did get quite a few things done but it was a slow start. I had no sense of direction and my legs felt like lead. I knew that I was going to have a few of those days so in Turin it was. It did not take away at all from enjoying what I did manage to squeeze though.

The first stop was another thing that I been looking forward to and that was the Museo Nazionale de Cinema. It is housed at the Mole Antonelliana, a building originally intended to be used as a synagoge but never used as such. To find it is pretty easy. It's like trying to find the Eiffel Tower in Paris. You can see it pretty much from anywhere. To reach it, I walked by the Royal Palace where there seemed to be a large congregation of
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Terrace and the view
military that had gathered. Mamma mia!!

The museum itself takes you on a tour of the cinematic history which includes shadow theatres, camera obscuras, magic lanterns, etc. There is a small section dedicated to the Lumiere family (whose museum I saw in Lyon). A really fascinating look at the development of cinema and a huge collection of artifacts. The second floor is called the Temple Hall. It is a huge room with two large projection screens. There are red velvet reclining seats and you can lie back and enjoy the projections. Around this particular floor are what they refer to as "chapels" that each dedicated to certain films. There are props from Bonnie and Clyde for example. The round bed with heart shaped pillows from the movie Lothario seemed to draw alot of attention. From there, you make your way along this passageway that circles the building and again touches on the different aspects of cinema making eg. scripts, lighting, costumes, props, sound, the director, casting and on and on. There are props and original items from different movies. There are videos playing throughout obviously. The tour ends with the Panoramic lift. The elevator itself is smack dab in
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Terrace and the view
the middle of Temple Hall and zooms you up 85 meters in a mere 59 seconds. It's a glass elevator of course and it allows you to see the entire Temple Hall from above. The views outside of Turin are pretty spectacular. I loved this museum. My photos are awful because it is so dark in there and it certainly don't do it justice!!

After that I decided to stop for a bite. I walked in and the waitress addressed me in Italian. It must have been the dazed look in my face that alerted her to the fact that "non parlo l'italiano". So instead of giving me a menu, she grabbed my arm and said "you come". So I went and was lead to a glass display where all of the choices were laid out. Crisis averted ... and I have come to the conclusion that I overcook my pasta!!

I circled back to the Royal Palace (yep ... military still there!!) and took the audioguided tour. The outside looks relatively plain but the inside is ... well ... insane! I have never seen such ornate rooms. The one that stood out for me is the dining room where the table (which probably seated 20 plus people) was set for a meal. As you walked in, you could hear the menu being read out. I'm sure that the poor security guard that had to sit in that room could rattle that list out in a heartbeat!! The ballroom was also interesting because it was filled with mannequins dressed in period costumes. A very interesting visit and definitely one of the more elaborate palaces that I have seen so far.

Right next to the Palace is a cathedral. The facade (and even its interior) are relatively plain. What makes it stand out is the fact that the Shroud of Turin is housed here. There are video displays that explain what the shroud is and how it would have come to be. You don't actually see the shroud itself. It is stored in a box that is covered for its protection. There is a reproduction that hangs just above it though.

My visit of Turin would end with a stroll on Via Garibaldi. It is a pedestrian mall filled with shops. Oh the clothes that I saw and wished I could have taken home!! There was also
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

The street where my hotel is. Covered walkways pretty much the whole way
the call of gelato ... chocolate and pistachio this time around I actually managed to order in Italian but then the girl asked me something, glazed over look and she kind of just looked at me with a "never mind ... just act like I didn't ask anything" kind of look. I get a feeling that I am going to have many of these encounters in the next few weeks! I need to whip out my iPod and listen to my Italian lessons!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Movie posters
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Tweety birds cage
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Road Runner shaped hole in the door!
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Museum of Cinema ... this is the Temple Hall
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Temple Hall
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

Costumes from Star Wars
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Original drawings of costumes used on movies. The bottom right was for Liz Taylor. There is also one for Charlie Chaplin
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

Poster Gallery
Photo 24Photo 24
Photo 24

Poster Gallery
Photo 25Photo 25
Photo 25

Original storyboard for Empire Strikes Back
Photo 26Photo 26
Photo 26

Original storyboard for Empire Strikes Back
Photo 31Photo 31
Photo 31

Gremlins
Photo 32Photo 32
Photo 32

View from the top
Photo 33Photo 33
Photo 33

The actual museum


5th May 2011

Star Wars Items
Thanks for including the items from Star Wars. I would love to see this museum. It looks amazing!
5th May 2011

Cinema Museum
Hey Barb ... you would have loved it. The photos do not do it justice. The Temple Hall is just out of this world. They have really done an amazing job putting this museum together.
15th May 2011

The Cinema Museum seems quite interesting, with props and all (Tweety bird's cage...too cute:) I guess I would be impressed to see the Shroud of Turin...even if only a copy. Now, what happened to good old fashioned candles??? Oh well, I guess one must go with the flow and embrace progress:)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb