History, Fashion,... McDonalds


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
October 30th 2006
Published: November 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Duomo-Decorative and HugeDuomo-Decorative and HugeDuomo-Decorative and Huge

Strange mixture of Baroque and Gothic
Trick or Treat? I still can't get my head wrapped around Milan. Today's the first day I did proper sight seeing. Everyone (particularly the men) are in business suits, giving it a more serious vibe compared to any other Italian city I've been to. However, the cathedral, Il Duomo, changed my opinion of Milan exposing the historic side of Milan. It's absolutely stunning. Inside is dark and I was almost immediately accompanied by 'Rodolfo' who insisted on guiding me around. He did point out interesting notes about some of the history and art peices but when he tried to kiss me (and not just on the cheeks!) I'd rather walked out clueless. ICK!!!! After flat out rejecting his request to see Milano together I quickly escaped and climbed to the roof, every single step trying to erase the awful memory of being approached by a 55 year old (ICK!!!). It worked thankfully. The climb was not so much worth the views of the city but to be surrounded by lace like, ornate Gothic carvings was amazing. I think it's the world largest Gothic cathedral, I might be wrong. You have to make reservations to see The Last Supper which I was
Galleria Vittoria EmanueleGalleria Vittoria EmanueleGalleria Vittoria Emanuele

The guy who designed it was killed when he fell from the roof a few days before the inaugural ceremony
warned before hand but didn't do and turns out the next booking is in 3 days and will be gone by then. I got side tracked looking for an art gallery and came across a building where the entrance in glass said ARMANI which was probably his design studio. I almost had forgotten that Milan is the capital of Italy's fashion industry and home to all the big fashion names! I know at least one brand name fan is shuddering at me, particularly after she scolded me for my lack of shopping thus far 😉 The stores don't seem to be so in your face here though! Also I would have loved to seen an opera at La Scala, one of the most prestigous opera houses however I noticed there aren't any shows playing right now.

On the food note, it seems to be more of a necessity than a pleasure as every corner seems to have a McDonalds. Thankfully there are still pizzerias. Anyways, I think I'm ready to leave Italy now and am looking forward to Spain! CIAO!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb