Rooftop fun


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
August 20th 2011
Published: May 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After checking into my very swish hotel which was only 10 minutes walk from central station I headed back out to the Duomo and up in the lift to the roof where you can walk around and see the sights etc. However, little did I realise that it only took you to one place on the roof and to negotiate your way out you have to walk through the rest of the roof, up incredibly steep steps which are teetering on the edge of the walkways and over the sloping roof… which when you are in 42 degree heat and your feet are sweating in sandals… makes for a scary and slippery trip! If I had realised how gruelling that part of the climb was I wouldn’t have done it… not even for the photo opportunities that I love so much as it was far too hot and my poor face was like a beetroot. The views were spectacular though and it was very pleasant to see the city from a different angle. I then went on a lovely long walk through the streets leading away from the Duomo up to La Scala opera house and the surrounding areas of designer shops and hotels. A long and exhausting day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb