Italy's bus system is crap


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
September 19th 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got to the hotel and the rest of that night was fine. The next morning not so much. So, the hotle wasn't near really anything. I asked the hotel staff where the nearest bus station was, I walked forever to find the bus station, couldn't find it so I ended up going into a super market and asked some girls who were working where the nearest one was. I was no where near the one the hotel told me about, and the girls said it was to hard to explain where the nearest one was, so they offered to drive me there. I hoppped in there car and they dropped me off at the statio. I needed to go to Milan before I went to Monza because I realized that I didn't have anywhere to put my luggage while I was at the race so I booked a hostel for that night whic was in Milan. I was just gonna go to monza though and take the local train to milan, missed the first bus, then I was told I had to buy my ticket at a Cafe/tobacco shop. I couldnt find the shop at first, when I finally did they said they were out of tickets to monza. So i just got one that went to a part of Milan, at least thats what I think the lady said. Bus comes, I get on, the driver asks me if i'm going to the race and told him yea i am, i need to go to milan first though buut i dont think he understood, he told me to get off at this stop. I was in monza. i walked forever trying to find the train station and had to take another bus after walking for a half hour.(keep in mind I'm carrying like 50 pounds of luggage) Got to the station, took it to milan, got on the metro towards my hostel, got off the metro, started heading in the wrong direction before i asked someone, turned around and pretty much tried to run/walk as fast as i could. Got to the hostel, had to wait forever to talk to reception because of the guy in front was taking forever. Talked to recption and told them i really need to get going and, so i just put my stuff in storage and ran to the metro, took the train back, took a bus to the race, which I thought then, great, I can still get my ticket. The track is in a big park, so the busses couldnt take you all the way to the track, so i walked for anothr 15 minutes or so. got there and it was to late. The $170 or so i spent on the ticket was wasted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb