The Dream Diary of Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Cremona
December 6th 2012
Published: December 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 6 December

Italian food, though it is really delicious, is packed with carbs. They eat Nutella and wraps or biscuits or croissants for breakfast, maybe pasta for lunch or a savoury wrap or a sandwich and then pasta or pizza or quiche or some other form of food for dinner. So you are eating pasta for at leats 1 meal a day. Unfortunately my South African bady is used to having pasta only about once or twice a week for one meal so we eat way less carbs. As a result of eating as the italians do i have put on al little weight so I decided I am going to start running! God help me!

My friends in SA will probably read this and laugh as I do not even do running in SA as I intensely dislike running!! But as a resort to keeping in shape and maybe keeping my mind of being homesick i got this bright idea to go running!

So today at 10 30 I cycled down to the river which was about a 20 minute cycle (aaaahhh!!) and then ran for about 20 minutes (aaaaahhhh!!) and then cycled back home which is another 20 minutes (aaahhh!!!). As today is a high of 5 degrees celcius, I had to wear thermal underclothes, borrowed takkies from my host mother, beanie (also borrowed and intensely disliked), scraf, 2 pairs of gloves, 2 pairs of thick socks (so my feet could fit into my takkies), and my hoody over my beanie! I must have looked like an eskimo. The actual run was quite nice actually (try not to laugh so much mom!). I really enjoyed it and i plan on doing it more regularly.

The weather forecast says it might snow here tomorrow so I am actually looking forward to that. Although i will have to wear about 100 layers.

Last night i went out for drinks with this girl named Marta and her friends. It was a really unique experience but i enjoyed it. The italians only have wine, beer and a few spirits (thats vodka and tequilla). We went to this bar that was having this drinks special for beers buy one get one free. The italians have different size beers and they do not have beers in cans or glass bottles. Only in the kegs. They small, meium and large but they measure it in ml's. Was very entertaining to go out with italians, They were all very friendly and didn't drink very much but i am used to SA drinkers and parties. We plan on going out on saturday so I will keep you all posted on what Italians do for partying!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb