Lake Como


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Como
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My expectations of what Lake Como would be like were way off the mark. I had expected the lake to be huge ( it is ), but I wanted there to be flat shores with pine trails leading off from it, with lovely lakeside walks in dappled sunshine. There arent any. It isnt like that at all. At first, I was very disappointed, but have now modified my feelings. A little.
In reality, the lake is surrounded totally by mountains, beginning immediately at the shores, apart from when there is a village. There are no beautiful walks on flat land around the lake, because there simply isnt any flat land.
We are staying in a lovely village nestled in the Y of the lake, called Bellagio. Its very quant and built on the mountainside with the usual steps leading to parallel streets on different levels. Our first day, the weather was dreadful, cold and rainy, so we took the ferry boat over to COMO. On a monday. MISTAKE!!!! Como is closed on mondays, so is the fernicular railway up to Brunate, so were the shops..... result - a somewhat boring and miserable day. Although, on a slightly more exciting note, we did see a boat leaving George Clooneys house.... dont know if he was at home.
All around Lake Como are huge and supposedly very beautiful villas, with fabulous gardens..... we havent visited one yet.... will see if we can fit one in, incase we are missing something by not doing. ( It doesnt really float my boat) . ( add. we visited the gardens of Villa Melzi this afternoon... we paid 12 euros and walked around.... these parks are free in England, and apart from the fabulous lake and mountain views, are just as delighful.
We decided to take a boat ride across to lovely Menaggio, and take a hike from there up into the mountains. Armed with our guide leaflet, we headed up there and walked through some lovely hamlets, crossing rivers, hiking up disused mule roads and into the woods. There, the views were stunning of the mountains and lakes below, I saw a deer running through the undergrowth, there were dragon flies, butterflies and lizards. I felt a little concerned incase there might be a wolf... ( afterall, we were quite deep into the mountain forests, so not an unreasonable fear I dont think).... I asked John... " do you think there might be a wolf"? He said no, not on its own!!! Well thanks babe, but I hadnt even thought of them being in packs. Freaky! He also said there are bears, but not the grizzly ones, and proceeded to give me information on what to do should we meet with one. Apparantly I was to lie down and play dead. I said, no, I didnt think that would be possible. ( As if !!!!) So he advised me to run downhill, rather than uphill, sine the bears have very short legs and cant run down hill very fast! I think they might beat me in a contest tho, and I dont want to find out. I think our best option would be to scream, somewhat rooted to the spot, and hope for the best. We wandered through forests of sweet chestnut trees, filling our pockets with them, ready for cooking when we got back to the apartment.
Summing up on Lake Como - I think it is a stunningly beautiful area, lovely to visit for about 3 days. Any more and the boredom sets in.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SDC10978SDC10978
SDC10978

Gathering chestnuts


10th October 2010

what a shame
I think that Lake Como is the most beautiful place, and could spend weeks there. There are a lot of places to visit, and the view is breathtaking. However you've kinda made my day.....I have never heard of anyone finding is disappointing....most folks, it takes their breath away...
17th October 2010

It is breath taking, I agree, but where and what are these "lots of places to vist"? We spent 8 days and had 4 fabulous days walking in the mountains. The other 4, we were looking for stuff to do/see. A wander around the villages.... Bellagio takes about a couple of hours, Mennagio 30 mins..... Como... well, just not that into shopping, and the fenicular was closed. The villas? Not something I enjoy, walking round gardens looking at a beautiful building. Please please dont mis construe my comments here as dissing the place.... its is stunningly beautiful, as I put in my blog, I just found it a difficult place to spend much time. What did you do to fill the time?

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb