and the skies opened up, sigh


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My hotel here does not have internet access in the rooms, so I won't be able to use my laptop or load photos. Not to fear, as soon as I can, I will load some on here. Also, not sure why I didn't think of this, but the keyboard in Europe is different than the ones in the US. Hmph. lol

I took the train from Milan through Genoa and down the coast into La Spezia. The weather turned ugly today, so most of the trip was through rain and gloom. After a taxi ride, I had my rental car. It was only when I was in the 5 speed Fiat with kilometers per hour, in an unfamiliar town in a foreign country in the rain that I thought, "hey, this could be tricky." Ya think??!! I did well though, although I could not find my hotel for the life of me. Portovenere is a coastal resort town with a one way circular street running through it. On my 3rd trip through I was feeling pretty cranky, so I parked and walked down the darn street until I found the hotel cleverly hidden behind a stone facade by the supermarkado. Heck, I had pulled over in front of it on circle 2, but didn't see it. I made one more circle looking for parking, and ended up just parking a ways away and walking through the downpour with all of my luggage. Needless to say, this is not how I had pictured my arrival in Cique Terre, but I am letting things go on this trip. On that note, I was upgraded to a suite with incredible views of the harbor and gloom and rain. I took some pictures.

Tonight's dinner was the best I have had. I ate at a small trattoria, having an insalata misto and pasta with pesto, since pesto is from this region. To wash it down, I had a bottle of white wine made and bottled here in the Cique Terre. Man everything was good. I asked to take a menu home and was given a nice new one, but I realized later that it didn't have the wine list on it, since it was hand written. Will try to get another one from a different place.

Please bear with me on the blog over the next couple days. I am hoping that the hotel in Florence will have inroom internet so I can deal with this better.

Missing you all and thinking of you with each new experience.

Ciao,
B

Advertisement



10th April 2008

rain, rain, go away
But I bet your rain and gloom in Italy is still better than our rain and gloom here! Sounds like you're having a great time even with the bad weather. I'm enjoying the pictures and the blog. Enjoy the rest of the trip! Keep the pictures coming!

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 43; qc: 164; dbt: 0.1362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb