Roma 2010


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio
November 15th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Rome was decided in 10 minutes, 3 days before Easter. I live and work in Bucharest now and my bags were packed to go to my family's home straight after work, (Drobeta that is). I did end up visiting some 2000 years old Roman ruins, but not the ones where I played hide-and-seek as a child. I had a train reservation for thatday, I took the train but came back after 3 days. At 20.20 I left from Drobeta, 3 pm I was in Bucharest, went home, took a backpack and filled it with underwear and t-shirts for 5 days, put on a jacket and the most comfy shoes I had and took a taxi to the airport. Meet with me friend and boarded the plane. At 8 p.m. I was in Rome with just the backpack, a guide book and a confused friend.
I have to say it was one very exhausting trip. Wanting to see to much in too short a time period. Don't do it. We wanted to see everything from the first day, but we failed of course. Instead we ate everything we laid eyes on (which was mostly pizza and gelato). Eating well in Rome doesn't come cheap. The good thing is that even the cheap food tastes good.
We booked a room far from the city centre but it ended up to be a good thing. We got to see some parts of Rome that we wouldn't have otherwise. We moved around with the tram and the bus, when possible. We kept away from the underground, everybody I know said it was a good decision.
My favourite part of the city was Trastevere, and old quarter on the banks of the Tiber River. Very nice. The french would call it "tres chic".
The Vatican was OK but nothing special, at least not to me, maybe because I'm orthodox not Catholic. Haia Sofia in Istanbul was more interesting.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb