Back in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 5th 2017
Published: June 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe that I have been in Italy for over a week now! It has all gone by so fast, and I feel like before I know it, I'll be back home.

Today was a shorter day. We woke up early, and considering I got back to JFRC at 11:45 pm, you could say I was tired! We began the day at Sant'Agostino Church. There, we saw Caravaggio's Madonna di Loreto and more than a dozen of other famous sculptures and painters. Next, we went to San Luigi dei Francesi. On the way over to this church, we saw A LOT of the Italian military guards, probably given the events that occurred in London over the weekend.

At this church, we saw 3 more paintings by Caravaggio - the Matts. After the churches, we headed to the Galleria Doria Pamphilj. This museum contained hundreds of painting and sculptures. It was a mix from Caravaggio originals to Lavinia Fontana, the first woman to get a title of artist. In fact, the family (Doria-Pamphilj) still live in the upper house of the museum.

Sadly, I had to work on a paper tonight, so I stayed in and ate dinner at the restaurant on the campus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb