The Roma Aroma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 11th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Venice to Roma


ColliseumColliseumColliseum

Flying my Kite!
I woke up this morning in my clothes from last night. Feeling a lot better though, because we’re going to Rome!

Breakfast this morning was at 8:00am. Nobody liked the hard rolls, but I sure did! Then we boarded the bus to head to Rome. The boys were playing with a soccerball while we were loading the bus… No surprise that I got hit in the head with it.
. Anyways, the bus ride was long, and we stopped at another Autogrill, where I bought a muffin, some chips, and an Orange Fanta for about €5. Then back to the bus. I still can’t find any phone cards to call home, and it’s been a while since anyone’s heard from me.

On the bus, we played some clip games, where Brek would play a piece of a movie or song, and we could guess where it came from. The movie one I sucked at, but the music one, I knew them all. Except instead of The Four Tops, I mistakenly put The Temptations, and got it wrong! Nooo! But that was fun. We also played some Connect 4 and cards and Sudoku, which is good, because my Dramamine stash
Wedding Cake MonumentWedding Cake MonumentWedding Cake Monument

At least that's what Brek called it. I forgot the name of it...
is limited. I also tried to catch up on some journaling.
Finally, around 3:00, we arrive in Rome, and check into our hotel. At 4:00, we meet to start our walking tour.

Our first stop was at the Coliseum, where we got some good shots. I also got to fly my kite in front of it. It’s kind of unreal to see the Coliseum in person. I expected it to be further away from the industrialized Rome, but nope. Rome has all these new buildings and roads right alongside ancient ruins.

Our walking tour then took us to a few places that I don’t really know about, so the following will not sound at all intelligible:

We first walked to what Brek called the “Wedding cake” monument, which I later found out to be a monument to Victorio? Or I may just be making that up. On our way to the monument, we passed by some maps that Hitler had given Mousillini. Very interesting.

Then we walked to the Trevi Fountain, where I made my three wishes—one for Good Luck, one for True Love, and One to Return to Rome. Let’s hope I will get all
Trevi FountainTrevi FountainTrevi Fountain

Make a wish!
three. We also bought some gelati from a very flirty gelati man. Eva wasn’t so amused, but I thought he was pretty funny. A winking kind of guy—gotta love that. Triple scoop for me: Hazelnut, Nutella, and Kiss, which is Chocolate with Nuts. Asking for Kiss was an adventure with Mr. McFlirty.

From there we moved onto the Pantheon. We didn’t make it there in time to go in, but it looked pretty impressive from the outside. We took some group shots, and enjoyed the scenery. I think my favorite part was the old man playing the accordion by one of the ten thousand fountains in Rome.

Next, we walked over to the Plaza Navona where we had out dinner. I had roast turkey and French fries dripping in olive oil. It was alright, but I could have done without so much oil. It was also €13.

After dinner we walked around the plaza some more. Eva stopped to have coffee at some place, and I went to look for some gelati. I passed by some guy selling earrings, and he said he’d give me a pair for a special price. €5! Eh, I don’t know… I
PantheonPantheonPantheon

corner shot
bought my gelati for €2.50, and then bought the earrings when I passed again. Once I bought them, I found the sticker he had treid to take off that said €4! What a rip!

Then we headed back to the hotel for an early night. I still haven’t called or written home yet. In fact, I fell asleep waiting for Eva to come back. Whoops.

Total for the day: €26.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb