Vatican visit


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 13th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Vatican Visit



Wednesday 13 June 2012



Raphael’s Rooms in the Vatican



Wednesday 13 June 2012



As a little aside, a few days back I spoke of the Miracle of the bloodied cloth at Orvieto, well today I saw the depiction of this event painted by Raphael. It covers an entire wall in the Vatican, which shows how fundamental this event is in the churches history. The work is known as The “Mass of Bolsena” and Pope Julius II commissioned Raphael to include him, Pope Julius II, as taking part in the mass where the miracle occurred. Of course this was 200 years after the fact, but Julius was either very vain or very insecure.

Beginning in 1508, it took Raphael and his school 16 years to complete the works commissioned to adorn the walls and ceilings of the Popes apartment, and it took me just minutes to snap them. Sadly my snaps don't do Raphael's beautiful works justice, but at least I hope you'll get the idea. This is my favourite part of The Vatican Museum. I liked it even better than the Sistine Chapel.

I'm off to Greece. Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



16th June 2012

Fantastic !!!
Only just got to see your travel blogg, what a apic adventure! You sure have a talent putting this hole thing together. The photo's and your story, magnificent and a great piece of education for someone like me who has never visited Italy. Although I was born in Europa (Netherland) is choose different countries for Holiday's and work. It was only after I immigrated and returned after 12 years I realisted the magnificent historical beauty of the "Old Country" It's great to see you having this great adventure, how enriching. I believe you are near the end of your trip there make the most of it and see you back at work. Lia Verbunt
19th June 2012

Hiya Lia
Thank you for your comments Lia. I certainly is an adventure and Im not sure that I would spend so much time away from home again without someone to share my experiences with. Im looking forward to coming back to work. I miss everyone and the normalcy of life as I know it. Take care yourself, see you soon, Cath

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb