Roma-an Architectural Delight..


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 7th 2011
Published: October 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since I read Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, I had been fascinated by Rome. It felt like mystery and secrets were hidden in every nook and corner of this ancient city. I was particularly drawn to the Vatican. Siam (my lovely hubby) knew this and was sweet enough to select Rome as the first stop over point for our honeymoon.
We reached Rome in the morning flight. After sorting out the necessities of lodging and mobile sim card purchasing, we were all set to start exploring the city. I was so excited that I forgot to change the stilettos I was wearing – the agony will be a part of the story in next few lines.
Right at the first bend of the road, was Italy’s first Gelato shop. The variety of flavors was uncounted and each one looked more delicious than the other. We bought 2 large scoops and set for the Vatican.
It was end of July and Rome was hot. Once we reached the Vatican, there was a long queue to get in. we had to stand there but before that we drank from the fountain of the Vatican Square. The cool water felt heavenly under the very hot sun. Many of the tourists were wearing skimpy summer clothes – the suited (in burning hot weather) guards were politely firmly refusing them entry. So while I was rolling my jeans up a bit to let some air touch my legs, the miniskirts and shorts had to be covered by long scarves or towels so that entry was permitted.
We are an adventure loving couple. Though I was interested in the history of paintings and sculpture along with the architecture, Siam was not much inclined towards the lectures of the guide. So we decided to take the fun way up- 551 steps on feet to the top of the Vatican. Here I realized what a terrible mistake the stilettos were- I promptly corrected my silly mistake by taking them off and walking barefoot inside the Vatican (at that time I really didn’t care what people were thinking of me- I was having such fun).
The stairs are and architectural delight in themselves. Wide, narrow, darkened, illuminated, wooden, made of steel, made of stone, rounded, straight and so many other varieties of stairs had to be crossed.. we were running out of breath. When I felt I couldn’t go up any more, we could see the sky peeping through a hole above. With renewed gusto we moved up and finally reached the top. The view was panoramic. The surrounding of Vatican and quite far into Rome we could see in a bird’s view. The air was refreshing after the long, tangly, suffocating walk upward. We spent some time there and then took the relaxed walk downstairs to see inside the Vatican. Inside the Vatican is beautiful-particularly inside St. Peter’s Cathedral. Its like history is written in walls in the form of painting master strokes; its like emotions are made eternal with the help of sculptures- The Pieta by Michelangelo is the classiest of all. I could spend days over there-had I the time in hand.We called it a day by having yummy pasta and lasagna at a roadside café.
The next day we took a whole day bus tour of Roma. We could stop at any of the 11 (probably) points whenever we wanted in turn. First we took the whole city tour and made our plan of what we wanted to visit first. We got down at Piazza de Venezia and explore the dominating Victor Emmanuel II Monument. After that we took a walk along the streets and couldn’t resist but ended up buying a handbag- though it was a present. We ate famous Italian pizza for our lunch and enjoyed every bite of it. We walked further and went to Trevi Fountain on foot. Its so beautiful and the fountain water was so cool that we spent a good chunk of time over there with our feet in the water.
When the sun became cooler, we went to the Pantheon. The square in front of the Pantheon is beautiful and nostalgic- made me feel as if I had stepped into the 15th century with stoned streets, horse carriages and stone carved fountains in the center of the square.
My hubby was most inclined to visit the Colloseum but I suggested that we go there in the evening as the lights should make it more beautiful a spot to take pictures. I honestly thought that if we went there in the evening, the lamps would create an ambiance and that the cool weather will also make it a better experience to spend some time over there. But when we reached there just a few minutes after 6 pm, we heard that gates had been closed for the day and that the information which we got about it staying open till around 8 was incorrect. I felt sooo bad that I had spoilt the trip for Siam that I felt like crying. I would have given back my visit to the Vatican – if I could- in exchange of a visit to the Colosseum , I would have very willingly done that. But I could do nothing at all. Siam, on the other hand, though his wishes remained unfulfilled, still tried to cheer me up- I am both sorry and grateful to him for that and always will be.
We walked for a bit long, wandered through the shops, ate at cafes and headed back to hotel. As we packed our bags in preparation for an early start to Mestre the next morning, I couldn’t help but feel really blessed to have Siam as my life partner…


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb