Day 44: Roma Day 1


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 17th 2011
Published: April 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was so excited to be really heading into Rome, it has held a fascination for me for most of my life, thinking about Roman warriors and the life of the people of ancient Rome has made me want to come here. Well I have to say Rome is all I had dreamt about, the Coliseum and the Roman Forum in particular were just mind blowing, seeing remnants of a past 2000 and more years ago is just, well mind blowing for me. We saw the Trevi fountain and the Spanish Steps and churches and old ruins by the dozen; I can’t get enough of them. We did not go into the Coliseum as the crowds were just too much to bare, it was enough to see the fine structure. The poor writer that I am can not fine the words eloquent enough to do it all justice, just put this city on your bucket list right there at the top. We used the Metro train system and the bus system to get around to and from the camp ground and may make use of it more when we come back in to town in a few days. Tomorrow is a rest day for us, Pam has to work and to be honest I am very tired from all the driving and sightseeing, we have done around 5500kms so far and still 3 weeks or so to go, we all need some time off. Tuesday we are off on a tour of the Vatican for 3 hours and will visit more sights later in the day depending on how we feel. Rome is a very large city and the historical area is huge, you need at least 2 weeks here to do everything and we will only try to cover off the main items.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb