Chapter 4 - Over and Out


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 28th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

2 weeks in Italy was not enough time. I will have to make my way back to this lovely country one day and spend quality time wondering around for days among days. If I had to do it all over again - this is how I would do it:

Spend at least 1 full day, if not 2 in Sorrento and 2 full days in Capri (one day on a boat and the other wondering the shops on the island). At least 2 full days in Florence. I would spend at least 2 days in Venice to explore all the little streets, shops, cafes, museums. I would stay by Lake Garda at least 1 night, if not 2 nights as the town is so sweet. I would skip Milan totally (only go if you are a shopper). Verona was cute - but nothing to write home about. Cinque Terre was pretty nice. You can probably do the area in about 1-2 days with of course quality beach time - I probably wouldn’t run back here though anytime soon. Last Rome - I would come back here nearly to wonder without a timeline. The city is huge and it is difficult to get your bearings. You can spend 3 days here or an entire week here! My dear family friend, Mary, lives in Rome so I was able to spend my last day in Italy with her. She was a rock star! She helped me with my laundry, the post office and of course eating some great food. It was nice to be in someone’s home and spend quality time catching up. I haven’t seen her in years and she looks fabulous (and she is in love)!

I was impressed by the Contiki tour. Our tour manager was amazing. She was organized, friendly and smart. I hope my next few tours are as successful as this one! The group was made up of 50 people that were for the most part, lovely. I still don’t know about 15 people’s names… but that is inevitable in a large group. I had a tough time having a roommate as I haven’t shared a room like that with anyone on a tight schedule my entire life. Of course my roommate was my friend - so we were able to bicker like an old married couple and figure it all out. I opted for a single for my trip to Laos and Cambodia for an additional $360. It is 13 nights - so probably worth the privacy. I will have a random roommate in Vietnam - so crossing my fingers she is cool.

Anyhow, overall the experience in Italy was lovely. I wish I had some more free time to do what I wanted; however I would probably have moved like a snail if I was by myself and not have seen as much (or find a beach and not move for days). There is a huge convenience factor to being on a tour - so all in all if the group is a good group, it is worth it! I was lucky to have met such wonderful people - Amy, Tanya, Jill, Shanna… these are super positive woman who have had some incredible life experiences. I felt comfortable from the minute I met them. I think I might have met some lifers (similar to some of my Israel girls - Cara, Laurie, Karen - great girls who I always think about and love spending time with). I hope our paths cross again - thinking reunion in Hawaii (1/2 way to the Aussie and Kiwi)… lol.

Shout out to the food of Italy. Typical day:

Breakfast - croissant, ham sandwich and/or yogurt

Lunch - pizza or pasta

Snack - gelato and/or rice ball

Dinner - pizza or pasta

Snack - gelato

OYE! I am going to go into carb withdrawal once I arrive in Turkey!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb