I'm no mario andretti but I've made it to ROMA


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We made it! So happy to give up the car and enjoy the final few days of the trip. Looking forward to seeing Naz here tomorrow afternoon. Another sunny day, I'm sooooo glad we stopped in Orvieto along the way. It is a very old hilltown with the most enormous, ornate, and beautiful duomo I've seen yet. We had to park and take tram up to the top. There is also a very deep St. Patricks well that we didn't have time to pay and explore.

We left the hill town about 2pm and made it into the Rome airport about 4:30. Our mistake to target the wrong airport on the map though Fiumicino...I think it was farthest. At least the cab fair was VERY expensive from there to the hotel. I think that was the scariest part for me...being a passenger in a taxi into Rome. OMG! I couldn't watch him drive so fast in all that traffic. Cars merging everywhere, vespas and motorcycles weaving in and out. Crazy!!!! I would never attempt driving in this city. I was very stressed out driving but all and all.....my driving experience in italy was a piece of cake in comparison to ireland. I basically drove in the convoy of trucks in the far right lane....as to avoid anybody riding my butt scaring the crap out of me. Needless to say I will not be driving the autobahn anytime soon.

Having a GPS tell you what lane to be in and when to turn right or left helps alot...it was correct on most of our destinations except when we tried to compute the villa's address and it took us to a private residence down the hill. Warren and I drove up and the entire family just happened to be standing outside and I mistakenly thought they were there to greet us. Hilarious....

Tonight we found a near by restaurant for a quick bite in Rome. The moon is out and it is still warm after 8pm. The traffic here is the scariest I've every seen. So agressive...even when trying to cross the street. It will be interesting tomorrow learning the ropes of how to get around the easiest to all the attractions. Time for sleep...we have a tour early tomorrow to hadrian's villa. ciao friends, tami and warren

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb