My Beloved Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
February 28th 2010
Published: February 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dear Roma, oh how I missed you. I should of known Alitalia Airlines would be in no hurry to get me to you. But I didn't expect them to drop me off in one terminal and my bag at another...GRRR! After catching the train to Termini and the subway to Battistini I finally was able to met up with my friend Giulia (a friend I made when leaving in Roma last year). I was so happy to see her!

We quickly hurried to her work at a theater that was showing Momix: Bothanica which is a modern ballet with the theme of botanical gardens choreographed by an American. It was absolutely breathtaking! I felt so fortunate that I was able to go see this performance with her while she ushered people to their seats. Later that night we went to one of my favorite areas in Roma, Trastevre, to meet up with some Giulia's friends from school. As they had just finished exams we had to each take a shot of flaming sambucca...whoa! We hung out in the streets of Trastevre under the moonlight and I felt right at home...my Italian home. I love you Roma!

In the morning Giulia and I were so excited to wake up and see the sun was shining bright (they've had quite a rainy winter). We hurried to San Pietro (Vatican) to meet more of her friends and just relaxed in the square, enjoying the rays. After they showed me their favorite panini shop in the area, which let me just say yummm, Giulia and I just started walking. We meandered to Piazza di Popolo, ate gelato on the Spanish steps and ended up at the Pantheon where we met Miche and later Pierre Franchesco (the two friends she was with the night we met). It was so good to see them!

Giulia made a spectacular meal for dinner that was so delicious. Once we were stuffed to the brim it was time to go out. I am not exactly sure where we went but it was near the university as the bar was packed with students. The overflow of people flooded into the park/square across the street. It was so fun, everyone merely sat on park benches with their friends and socialized. Giulia has so many friends that are all so great and friendly. I loved every minute of it!

The next morning I packed up and was off to the airport again. I was so happy to have been able to stop in Roma! It was very short but sweet. I was so glad I got to see Giulia and her friends again and meet so many more of her friends. She is truly such an amazing friend! I hope that she comes to visit me one day, so I can return the hospitality. She's the greatest; she not only drove me to the airport to leave but sent me off with the biggest sack lunch packed full of Italian goodies. I hope to return to Roma soon as I absolutely love it there.

Much love to everyone at home! I am off to Egypt...and feeling a bit anxious! AAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb