Return to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been back in Rome for a month and this is my first blog update...mostly because I don't really have anything new to report. If you can possibly imagine, Rome has simply become more "routine" and commonplace to me now. Sometimes it saddens me to think that I've become so disillusioned to the fact that I'm living in a beautiful European city with over 2500 years of history. The monuments, churches, and streets all seem so normal to me now. I've gotten used to the idea that I need to just stick to wearing flat shoes, or a wedge heel, because I simply cannot bear to walk on the cobblestone streets with stiletto heels. I wore closed shoes (with a heel) for the first time since April and my feet are now killing me. I've gotten used to being questioned as to how many bags I'd like at the supermarket (we pay 5-6 cents for each plastic bag here). I also don't ever leave the house without an umbrella because the weather, especially in autumn, is so unpredictable. Eating lunch at 3pm (or sometimes 4pm - like today) seems normal to me. I've been to the Sistine Chapel at least 8 times now...I've lost count, but I know that it's been at least 8. Living less than 2 miles from work takes me up to 1 hour to get there...this seems normal. It's a beautiful and wonderful city though...so full of life.

The first weekend I returned to Rome I met up with Jen and Aimee. Aimee invited us to her house for some pizza and wine. Jen made homemade tortillas and salsa also...it was delicious. It was nice being able to catch up with both of them after my trip home. It's always nice hanging out with the girls over good food, good wine, and good conversation.

Returning to work was really nice too. It was great to see everyone at school, and was nice to catch up with everyone...both co-workers and students. It was a little surprising to return to so many new students though. It was nice hearing about everyone's vacations. It seems the summer holiday period went too quickly for all of us.

That same week I also met up with Kristin, an old high school friend. We hadn't seen each other since we graduated, but it was really nice to see her again. I've also been lucky enough to meet up with Janelle and Greg here also. They were here a week and a half ago for a few nights after their trip to Germany for Oktoberfest. Also that week I hosted two friends of Heather's...Melanie and Nicky. They were both a lot of fun and we had a good time together those few days. It was really nice having some company since I'd been living alone for almost 3 weeks at that time.

Now, Alison has returned. It's nice having her back again...although we were both a bit sick last week...especially Alison. We also had to work on Saturday morning, so we didn't do anything too crazy this weekend. We're both looking forward to having a full weekend off this upcoming weekend. It will be my first weekend off since I've returned. I've worked the last 4 Saturdays, and I feel like I could definitely use a day off at this point.

This time being back in Rome feels different. I miss my family and friends and the familiarity so much more than I have in the past. I'm really looking forward to being home again at Christmas...it's only about 2 months away now. But before I head back home for the holidays, Marisa and Kelly are coming to visit...we're going to have a great time here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb