Ancient Sights: Why Rome only has 2 metro lines


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 28th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
In order to arrive in Rome three days ago, I took the overnight bus from Vienna. It cost 44 Euro, less than half the price of the train. It was also completely insane. I was on the bus for 17 hours 2:30pm to 7:30am. And less you think that an overnight bus would provide space, or seats that are larger or more spacious than a regular bus let me disabuse you of that notion. I got maybe a hour of sleep if you add up all the 10 minutes that I managed in between people going to the bathroom and shining the bathroom light in my eyes. When I got to Rome and found my hostel they let me leave my luggage, but I couldn't check into my room until after 2pm, so I had to go out and walk around. I saw a lot of interesting things, but I don't really remember them. Experiences like that are unbearably uncomfortable, and yet I got through it. Its over now and I have had two excellent days in Rome that more than make up for 17 hours of discomfort.
Today I visited some of the sites of Ancient Rome: the
Arch of ConstantineArch of ConstantineArch of Constantine

The Emperor that legalized Christianity. You went from being imprisoned for being a Christian to being imprisoned for NOT being a Christian.
Colosseum, the Pantheon, and the Roman Forum. Out of the three of those the one I had never heard of, the Roman Forum, turned out to be the most interesting. I guess I should read ahead in my guide book, huh? The Roman Forum is the center of Ancient Rome, most of the important Temples and Government buildings where here. This area was plundered for its marble in the middle ages and used as pasture land. I can just imagine the cows wandering around the Temple of Saturn. At least they didn't have to pay 12 Euro for a ticket.

The house of the Vestal Virgins was my favorite part. Apparently the flame of Vesta, Goddess of the home, was supposed to tended constantly by 6 virgins. 10 year old girls would be chosen from the best aristocratic families (sorry middle class girls are out of the running) and they would train for ten years, tend the flame for 10 years, and mentor for 10 years. After that they were free to marry and they got a nice statue made of themselves for their trouble. Vestal Virgins were in great demand as marriage prospects despite their advanced age; it was a prestigious position. But if the virgin wasn't virginal she was buried alive with one piece of bread and a lamp. Kind of like joining a nunnery with a shorter sentence. In fact the architectural design of the House of the Vestals was used as a model for future convents, along with the abstinence policy. Here I thought convents got that idea from the Virgin Mary, but it was a pagan tradition all along.
The Colosseum is so named for the giant statue of Nero that used to stand in front of it. It is actually called the Flavian Amphitheater Only a third of it is still intact having been scavenged by later builders including the architects of St. Peter's Cathedral. I find it interesting that once the Colosseum lost its usefulness and fell to ruin, instead of taking it apart and using the land for something else, it was just left there as a giant quarry in the middle of the city. Odd.
The Pantheon is a two part word taken from the Greek pan (all) and theos (gods). The current version of this temple/church was built in 120 AD on the site of Marcus Agrippa's 27BC original. The dome of the Pantheon was used as a model for St. Peter's dome. The reason this building still exists in its mostly original form is because during the Dark Ages it was converted to a church. You have to love that Roman practicality.
As a bit of cultural interest, today in the metro a Spanish woman, probably thinking I was Italian, asked me in English if she was on the right train to get to the Colosseum. I said 'si' as I like to preserve my anonymity as much as possible. I think that traveling alone really helps you blend in with locals. Most tourists travel in pairs or groups and speak their own language amongst themselves and generally let everyone around know that they don't know where they are going or what they are doing. I am enjoying my ability to blend in while it lasts, as when I get to Egypt and India I will definitely stand out no matter what.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

ColosseoColosseo
Colosseo

Called the Colosseum because of the enormous statue of Nero that used to stand in front of it, the official name is Flavian Amphitheater.
Map of Roman Empire at itMap of Roman Empire at it
Map of Roman Empire at it

stretching from scotland to Africa
House of the VestalsHouse of the Vestals
House of the Vestals

The small equally spaced columns are the statues of important Vestal Virgins.
Inside the ColosseumInside the Colosseum
Inside the Colosseum

Notice that the floor is missing to reveal the tunnels and rooms that would have hidden the animals and other surprise entertainment.
Inside the dome of the PantheonInside the dome of the Pantheon
Inside the dome of the Pantheon

This hole in the ceiling is called the Occulus and it lets in rain as well as light. The rain drains out of the floor through strategically placed holes.
Inside the PantheonInside the Pantheon
Inside the Pantheon

Ringing the large room would have been statues of various Gods and Goddess to which you could make sacrifices to.
The square in front of the PantheonThe square in front of the Pantheon
The square in front of the Pantheon

Includes another stolen Egyptian obelisk.
Strange white sculptureStrange white sculpture
Strange white sculpture

I am not sure what this is here for, but different variations of it were found throughout the forum. I am pretty sure its not ancient.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb