Men!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Night one and day two of the Roma excursion have brought some memorable instances. Some of these instances were brought upon by Italian men. The women here don't look a whole lot different from American women, but with the men, there is definitely a difference. As already addressed in my previous post: there are the manpris. I just don't understand the manpris, and that is all I have to say on the topic. Today we went to the beach, and the amount of speedos was quite interesting. Old men, young men, children (of both genders) were sporting the not so covering speedo. I give them props on their self confidence levels.

And finally, there was my first encounter with a typical, looking for love Roman man. I shall begin my story with the adventure of last night. Alright, so when a group of college students can't legally consume alcohol in the states, the first thing they want to do in Italy is drink. Naturally, last night we were on a bar hunt. A group of us took a bus down to a piazza ( I believe it's called Piazza Nuona, but I could be wrong). Before we got to the piazza, we got lost-go figure. But I personally didn't mind because we got to see some awesome Roman building. Frankly, the architecture here is simply incredible. Not only are the buildings, beautiful and huge and masterly constructed, they are so old!! These buildings are so large, and there's no way there was a guy on a fork lift. Anyway, so after walking by some Roman buildings and crossing a river, we found the piazza. There were some pretty remarkable fountains, but the street life is what blew me away! There were a ton of artists selling pictures. Some of them were copies of Picasso or what have you, and some were simply doing drawings of people in 10 minutes or less. But, there were also some amazing, original artistic creations. When I have a house, I'm going to Italy to pick out my decorations. There was also a street musician playing Dylan, The Eagles, and Stairway. We walked into some shops (Italian book stores rock! Too bad I can't read Italian), we got some gelatto (watermelon), and just observed.

We were trying to get our large group together to go to a bar, and we were walking down one street past a bunch of cafes and restaurants. This waiter pulls me aside, and asks if I want to drink (Gutsy, considering I was walking with a group of about four guys). I politely refuse, trying to keep up with my friends and i also do not want to come in contact with the date rape drug (no thanks!). He continues to ask me where I'm from. I tell him USA, and he says he's from Egypt (I thought that was kind of cool). He then proceeds to place his hand on the back of my head and start massaging my scalp while he asks me if I want to drink. Again, I say no, and he let me go. But man, a scalp massage from a total stranger?! As for the rest of the night, I had a couple drinks, witnessed some more Italian tries for love (in America, it would be called desperation), and went home and passed out from jet lag.

Today, we went swimming in the Med. I am not sunburned, but very sandy. The water in the Med is so much better than the Pacific Ocean or Lake Michigan. It was not a nude beach, but there were some topless women (Sam, I know you were probably wondering). Thus far, today has been a good day. I believe tonight is another search of clubs/bar excursion. Sounds like trouble!!

Ciao!

Advertisement



1st September 2008

Hottie
You are an Italian (or Egyptian) dreamboat and you didn't even know it! Ha Ha... I can't wait for more of these stories. Just keep in mind that if you even smile at an Italian man they think it's on. Amy once had one following her on the street for blocks after she just said hi. Have fun... and maybe say yes once in a while. he he. Love ya!- Julia
2nd September 2008

I miss Piazza Navona! :-( it sounds like you're having a terrific time! And beware of the ragazzi italiani...they're....forceful. I love yoU!!!!
6th September 2008

prosecco
If you haven't had some, do. We enjoyed at piazzo navona, my freinds favorite, when we went for her 60th birthdayThe fountain there is oneof the best, I think that I envy you your adventure.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb