My birthday weekend


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Faber BeachFaber BeachFaber Beach

Me and Heather
Well, overall it was a fairly nice birthday. The only downer of the weekend is that I had to work on Saturday morning. But everyone at work was really nice and gave me chocolates and "gifts" from the vending machine, haha.

On Friday night all us girls got together and had dinner at a Mexican restaurant. Yes, I know we're in Italy surrounded by amazing food, but when you eat Italian food 3 times a day every day of the week, you want something else to eat sometimes. The restaurant was good and actually fairly authentic. It was a bit surprising actually. The girls arranged to have them bring out cake for my birthday, and it was really embarrassing, but it was nice. After dinner, Heather, Davide and I went to Coyote. What would a birthday weekend in Rome be without a night at Coyote? We returned home at 4am after Davide and Heather had another one of their now famous disagreements. I just sit their quietly and wonder how I've suddenly become the one to look the other way and avoid an argument. This is not normal Carla behavior. Am I getting too old to care? Am I just
Faber BeachFaber BeachFaber Beach

The girls (me, Heather, Debbie and Antonella) and Danilo.
learning to deal with people better? Am I just becoming boring? I have no idea what it is.

After work on Saturday I met Debbie and Heather at Villa Borghese. They prepared a nice picnic full of the most random assortment of food. We had brownies, bruschetta, pasta, chips and salsa con queso, and assorted beverages. After we tortured, and then helped, the army of ants (the blanket was right next to an ant hole) we decided it was time to head home. I attempted to rest, but it didn't do much good. And after only 4 hours of sleep, a full day of work, and sitting for a few hours in the sun, it was time to somehow drag myself out to party. We went to Ostia again, and it was so much cooler there than in the city center. Davide and the girls bought me a gift which was really nice of them, and I really appreciate it. They're the best.

I can't believe that it will be August in just 3 days. Where has the time gone? Lauren leaves in just a week. It's so sad knowing that this weekend will be our last weekend
Faber BeachFaber BeachFaber Beach

Davide showing off his dancing skills.
together with all four of the roommates. When I arrived in March it seemed like August was so far away. And now I look back and can't believe I've been here for 4 months already. We've all grown so close in the past few months, and when we're not all together it seems like something is missing. It's still upsetting when I think back at the great friends I made in April, and how some of them left after just a month. Sometimes you don't realize how close you can become with someone in just a short time period. I never thought I'd grow so close to so many people in just a month. But it's really not the same without the two Nadines and Steph and Jenny here. And Thea left last month, and that was really hard as well. Besides all the girls, we have Davide as well, and all the people he's introduced us to. I feel really lucky, especially at this point in my life. I sometimes think that it's really difficult to meet people and difficult to make such good friends at this stage of life. Where do you meet these people? Everyone is set in their ways with their own friends, and own families. I honestly never imagined that I'd make so many REALLY good friends at the age of 28, and especially not while living in a foreign country. At least I feel like I have a support system here...a family. It's difficult being so far away from my family at times. And I miss my friends at home as well. At least I can be thankful that I have people here that I really care about...and that care about me.

And now, if we could only do something about these tiger mosquitoes I think I could be even happier. If I don't die of some insect infection from the 20 bites (I'm talking HUGE welts) I have on my body, then I'll see you all soon! What? You didn't think I could be all serious and wishy-washy for an entire email did you? Be serious!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb