Last day in Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

....and my feet are killing me.
We've been walking everwhere, except this morning, we took the train to the Vatican on the other side of town. We weren't intending to go in but Darren's been before and he said it's well worth the 110euro (I'm not quite so sure it was). Going on a tour gives you more of an idea of the stories behind the paintings and statues. We were lucky enough to get an Aussie tour guide who's been in Italy for 11 years and he gave us lots of offbeat info. Like the Emperor's boyfriend who drowned so he arranged to have him deified (declared a God) I must say I thought the boyfriend was a bit of a God too. Any way you have to question why the Vatican has statues of gay guys! Unfortunately my camera was almost out of batteries ( you may be saying thank God, opps is that blasphemous?) but there were so many amazing things I would have liked to clicked away 100's of photos. I did save some for St Peters Basilica but it was just too big. No photos could possibly do it justice.
We then made our way slowly
St Peters Basilica St Peters Basilica St Peters Basilica

....no photos can do it justice (especially not this one but it's the best I had)
back across town on foot (hence my sore feet after days of walking).
I could easily spend a few more days here, there's so much to see, even just wandering the streets is wonderful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The bridge leading to Hadrians MusoliumThe bridge leading to Hadrians Musolium
The bridge leading to Hadrians Musolium

It's flanked by beautiful angel statues
Julius CeaserJulius Ceaser
Julius Ceaser

Darren's idol
Meeting up with my mates at the Spanish StepsMeeting up with my mates at the Spanish Steps
Meeting up with my mates at the Spanish Steps

actually I don't see whats so special about them but maybe it's an after dark thing
had to go back to the Trevi had to go back to the Trevi
had to go back to the Trevi

....well it was on the way home


Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb