Rome - Day 1 - Wow!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 20th 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Key to the Kingdom!Key to the Kingdom!Key to the Kingdom!

This was the key to my room in my Rome B & B
Driving from the airport in to the City of Rome was like driving through any other city, but once hitting the Ancient City I was blown away with the sheer size of things that I saw.
First off, the doorway to my accommodation for 3 nights, Residenza San Pantaleo was huge! Then the keys to my room, there were 3 on a huge brass key ring. I decided to take a walk before having a rest before my Rome by Night Walking Tour later that night. Well, I didn’t get the rest as there is so much to see that I was awestruck. If you haven’t been to Rome then perhaps you wouldn’t quite understand what I mean, but to be walking a small alleyway and turn a corner and be faced with the sight of the Pantheon is overwhelming. The size of this fabulous monument is breathtaking. I couldn’t help but just stand and stare at it for quite some time. Once entering the Basilica I was blown away again, as I didn’t realise that it was circular inside.
I wasn’t aware of how much time had passed and had to find my way back to the Piazza Navona,
The DoorwayThe DoorwayThe Doorway

How big is the doorway to the B&B!!
the meeting place for the walking tour.
Wow, what a happening place that is, people everywhere, out having a good time, enjoying the atmosphere, watching the street performers, viewing the artists working etc.
The walking tour was great as the guide gave us a good insight in to the history of Ancient Rome. It took us to many great monuments, but I will talk about each one later.
I went back to my room , very tired, but so overwhelmed by the things that I had seen that it took me ages to get to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Entrance to the KingdomEntrance to the Kingdom
Entrance to the Kingdom

This was the view when I opened the main door to the B&B
Statue on BridgeStatue on Bridge
Statue on Bridge

Statues are everywhere
Statues everywhereStatues everywhere
Statues everywhere

The statues are everwhere and so ornate !


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb