Now truly "when in Rome"


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hotel Arenula--be ready to climbHotel Arenula--be ready to climbHotel Arenula--be ready to climb

Here is a portion of the group preparing themselves to climb the stairs to get to their rooms. The lobby was on the first floor, and we were on the ground floor. Soon I would have assistance in getting me to the 5th (4th for them) floor. That was truly when the "stairmaster tour" nickname came into effect!
Rome is a city that I would save for last in a tour of Italy. I was also waiting to see when I would be able to use the phrase "when in Rome," and it came to me as we rode two buses to the modern art and Bourghese museums today. One bus was packed to the brim, so that's just one thing. The time has come again to watch our bags, wear our money belts, get out at night to see the fountains and more (I wish to see several things by day and night), and to, ouch, head out at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow.

We go to the Vatican. And there are at least a couple of things I wish I had on my person. Again, I have a good list for anyone traveling here in the middle of summer. For one, maybe I can remember that I'm not in my favorite European city, London. It has rarely gotten cold, but I have a fleece jacket anyway! Feel free to laugh. I seem to need water a great deal, a few extra items of clothes for hot weather, laundry supplies (or room to hang them up in our closets,
Roman Forum and moreRoman Forum and moreRoman Forum and more

This was a sea of ruins, a glimpse a ways over of the Coliseum, and to me, a sight to behold. I never did take (or have, really) the time to walk down in there too much, but even before I stepped foot in Rome I knew I would have to return. This area was one that I was looking forward to seeing for the first time, and it did not disappoint!
er, rooms sometimes), and so on. I can talk more on that later, but now I should leave this "internet point" and head the few blocks back to our hotel. It has 5 floors, and no elevator. Guess who is on the 5th floor! :-) It reminds me of living in the dorm, for we also have Wes, James, and Issac (Janice's son--she's leading the program) next door. The air doesn't work, but I hope that the 2 days are up that we were to wait until it was fixed.

But Roma is nice, and I'm just adjusting to being in a city with so much history that it boggles the mind. I have read a lot about this place, so I wish to see more relics and art of ancient Rome. But we saw sculptures in the Borghese and more art at the modern museum today. We saw a bit of the Forum and so on the other day, and I have already thrown a 2 cent coin into the Trevi Fountain. It's off to enjoy Rome until early, early, Friday morning! I will see about posting more about Italia up until now before the week is over
The Trevi Fountain and IThe Trevi Fountain and IThe Trevi Fountain and I

This was from one of my many nightly strolls around Rome; I went with Tom N. and his daughter and grandson, and Lindsey N. took this. I had thrown the coin in, but the pictures taken as though I was about to toss it in were just plain cheesy. So this is me looking all too shiny at the Trevi Fountain. :-)
too. Arrividerci!

I also have a picture card reader now that I got in Sorrento...it was giving me difficulties, but I am borrowing one from the man at the desk at the internet point here. Now I can do something, but as usual, I have to go get ready for a new day. Next time I will get to the pictures first, but more is to follow (even after I am stateside again)!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

On the bus around townOn the bus around town
On the bus around town

Here are Mary Donnan, David, and James sitting on one of the buses we rode to get to the two museums (Borghese and Modern Art) our second full day in Rome. I think David is mapping out our route and Janice (sitting with Isaac and me across from him)is following along with the roads we were seeing too. This took two buses, or maybe three, and one of the first ones was the packed and crowded one. No better time to bond with your group, however!
St. Peter's SquareSt. Peter's Square
St. Peter's Square

Upon looking out into the Square, one can see many things. I felt like I could not take pictures here fast enough, that I needed a full card to achieve the former, and that being inside the Cathedral was one of the most memorable experiences I've had in all of Europe. Yes, I said it, and that's including seeing Poet's Corner in Westminster Abbey (I just love London!).


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb