Rome Day 3


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, today wasn't as exciting as the previous two. Most of the morning was spent getting lost, even with a map in hand. My 1st stop of the morning was at the Victor Emmanuel II monument. After taking a few photos, I went around back to the Piazza Campidoglio and took a few more pictures. I then went across the river and made my way to the Ponte Agua Paola. Climbing higher up the hill, I stopped at the Monumento a Garibaldi. There was a fantastic overlook of the city, so i took more photos, before heading back down to the city.
Eventually getting off the hill, I was right by the Vatican. I decided to wait in line to visit the Vatican Museum, which consists of numerous buildings and rooms (including the Sistine Chapel). Surprisingly I had to only wait in line 15minutes, after watching crowds line the Vatican walls for hours the previous mornings. While the museum itself was very interesting, it was an extremely long walk up and down stairs before reaching the end of the tour at the Sistine Chapel. Unfortunately, the chapel was so overcrowded and dimmed for restoration/protection that you couldn't truly appreciate it that well. I finally had an extremely late lunch / early dinner, of Italian style pizza at the museum, before heading back to the hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb