The Gnome in Rome has Returned (by Asha T)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
April 24th 2023
Published: April 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

The Gnome in RomeThe Gnome in RomeThe Gnome in Rome

I was 5 months here. I think I was pretty cute. My parents say I look the same - always mischievous and up to something.
The last time I was in Rome I was a 5 month old baby. For some reason my parents nicknamed me the “Gnome in Rome”. Maybe it was because I always crinkled my nose. That was me smiling.

I am now 12 years old and am not a gnome. I adore reading, gymnastics, hanging out with my family and friends, and much more. This travel blog is from my perspective, not Moomoo's (aka my mum).

I have read my mum’s blog and am going to write an epilogue. I don’t know what I thought back then but here are my thoughts on Rome now:

Trevi Fountain

When I first entered the plaza, my first thought was “wow it’s so busy!” The Trevi fountain is gorgeous, and at night it was the best. But still busy. Maybe busier. I think at 3 a.m., it would be packed! The secret fountain in the corner was nice and quiet. It’s supposed to be a love fountain. It’s the only empty-ish spot and good for a water break (it’s cool we can drink water from these ancient pipes). Also, the coin thing has to be real because I have returned. The
HandstandsHandstandsHandstands

I like to practice my gymnastics.
Trevi fountain, although very busy, is a beautiful place to visit in Rome!

The Colosseum

I’m always in awe when I see what people have done in the past. The Colloseum is such a wonder. And luckily it was a bit quieter than the Trevi fountain. Even though the Colosseum is half crumbled, it is humongous! I can’t believe that it could fit 80,000 people! How did they have such symmetry that each stone fit in perfectly? How did they lift such heavy objects without machines? It’s so cool to see and learn about what we did in the past.

Overall, our trip to Italy was an incredible experience. I got to spend precious time with my family, explore random but intricate places, wander around in the food realm, and many more. I am so grateful that I can go to all these places and hope to make more memories.



The end


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Trevi FountainThe Trevi Fountain
The Trevi Fountain

I threw a coin in so that I will return to Rome.
Me at the ColosseumMe at the Colosseum
Me at the Colosseum

My parents made me fly high for pictures. Not sure why. I think I liked it though.
Colosseum Colosseum
Colosseum

We had a great tour with a guide that apparently my parents had 12 years ago. He was funny.
Trevi Fountain 12 years agoTrevi Fountain 12 years ago
Trevi Fountain 12 years ago

It looks less busy.
I’m dreaming…I’m dreaming…
I’m dreaming…

Of all the food I didn’t get to eat. Now I have eaten. It is good.
My favourite mealMy favourite meal
My favourite meal

Ipuqi - a Michelin star restaurant in Sicily. It was delicious
I like coffeeI like coffee
I like coffee

Every day I was allowed a cappuccino. This time I convince my parents to get something even more special. Yum.
I love OctopusI love Octopus
I love Octopus

This was a delicious breakfast. I asked for another plate
Our favourite Pizza PlaceOur favourite Pizza Place
Our favourite Pizza Place

It was around the corner from our apartment.
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

We only went to the beach once as it was chilly. We went in the water but our parents did not. I was disappointed.
Spanish StepsSpanish Steps
Spanish Steps

Also busy
Sometimes I get tiredSometimes I get tired
Sometimes I get tired

My parents make me walk and walk and walk. So sometimes I need to sit down and relax. This was in the Vatican museum.
Cool Greek TemplesCool Greek Temples
Cool Greek Temples

Who knew that the Greeks were in Sicily?
Hiking Mt. EtnaHiking Mt. Etna
Hiking Mt. Etna

It was hard. And snowy. I was happy that we didn’t also hike Mt. Vesuvius
St. Peter’s BasilicaSt. Peter’s Basilica
St. Peter’s Basilica

Kiki and Daddo spent most of the time at the bathroom lineup while Mama and I explored.


24th April 2023

The Gnome in Rome has Returned
You were such a trouper at that age my dear Asha. I loved all the pictures then and now. Really throwing a coin at Trevi Fountain meant the person will return ! You were right... the second time around in Rome you can appreciate the sights and sounds better than when you were a baby. Yes...your have a more enhanced taste for food. Bravo....what a delight to read your blog. Thank you for sharing. more exotic

Tot: 0.461s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb