Ostia Antica


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Ostia Antica
September 14th 2006
Published: September 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ostia AnticaOstia AnticaOstia Antica

the ruins
Today we went to Ostia Antica. We walked to the train station at the Piramide from our apt. and met Davide and the rest of the class. We took the train to Ostia Antica, which was the sea port for Ancient Rome (2nd cent. BCE) that was excavated by a digging headed by Musolini (sp.?). It was really cool because it was so perfectly preserved.

It had several bathhouses and fish markets, and a huge theater, which I loved! There was a lot of mosaic work in the bathhouses, and their God was Neptune, which made me happy, being the Tri-Delt that I am! I took a few pics with some dolphin tiles, which I'll upload as soon as I get the chance.

It started to rain on us, so we left a little early, but we still got to see pretty much everything. We took the train home and then we all got ready because we were having a pot luck dinner with the other humanities apt. If you know me well, you know my cooking skills aren't really up to par, so I volunteered to bring the salad. Easy enough, all I had to do was buy it! 😊 We ate there, and Tyler from the architecture students made--drum roll please-- SALSA! I nearly lost it! Chips and salsa is my favorite food and I've been dreaming about it (pathetic, right?). It was so good! It was fresh and mmmmmmm!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

The toilets! hehehe
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

sudzing up at the bath house ruins!
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

Erin and I got a little hot in the ruins of the sauna
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

It started to rain... I was not a happy Mary Margaret...
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

chatting on the streets of Ostia
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

the roommates...
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

the theater--my home
Ostia AnticaOstia Antica
Ostia Antica

The theater, again!
Rain! :(Rain! :(
Rain! :(

Waiting in the rain for the tram to the other kids apt. for dinner
Potluck Dinner!Potluck Dinner!
Potluck Dinner!

Yummy! Our potluck dinner at the other humanities apt.
At  school!At  school!
At school!

Our school has a statue of Caeser Austus, and the baby angel just happened to be missing a head. So I replaced it!


27th September 2006

angel
I never realized that angel was missing a head! Tell Caesar I said what's up

Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb