Saturday, August 13, 2016 - Trieste


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Friuli-Venezia Giulia » Trieste
August 13th 2016
Published: August 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I have visited, and written about Venice before. I will only say that sitting in the Piazza San Marco and drinking limoncello and perhaps having an ice cream sundae while the orchestras play is one of the favorite activities in my life.

I have visited, and written about, Trieste before, so I will say little here. But I have always thought of Trieste as an exotic destination. Perhaps it came from the 1956 National Geographic story. Or perhaps conflation with the deep-diving bathysphere of the same name. But it has seemed a far-flung outpost. I like visiting there. It has monumental buildings right on the sea, and our hotel this time was on the square (Piazza dell'Unità d'Italia) that has been called the most lovely square facing the sea in Europe, and certainly the largest. Our visit was unhurried and without any real agenda, other than my wish to get my picture with the statue of Little Jimmy Joyce, who came here to write Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb