Pontremoli to Cattolica


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Rimini
June 7th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not Rimini, but Cattolica is not in the database.

I, Hilary, have done two stupid things already. Well, 2 stupid things of note. Last night, after eating in the excellent restaurant Norina (where we ate last time we were in Pontremoli) we took a glass bottle of water in the bag with us. We also had the Eee PC in there. I put the bag down in a bar and broke the bottle but Ashley had wrapped the Eee well so my stupidity did no real damage. There was lots of water in the square as it poured and poured with rain. I think it must always rain in Pontremoli. My other stupid was losing my sunglasses which I need for the bike. I have no idea how I did that but I have bought some new ones. Motorcycle racing ones which will do the trick.

We were fortunate with the showers on the journey as we did not get too wet. We went through more magic tunnels. They are magic because they change the weather. As you go in it could be sunny then it could be thick fog on the other side. Yes, lots of serious engineering on the motorways between just past Nice and Parma. I think it's what they call 'technical' as it needs lots of concentration to ride. All I have to do is not fall asleep on the back.

The snack I like is called Icaro. It has prosciutto crudo and robiosomething cheese and rocket. Ashley had one too today.

Cattolica seems pleasant - not as crazy as Rimini and a bit more downmarket. Our hotel (Ferrara) has a wraparound balcony and a fridge. We have been out for an explore, new sunglasses and the essential Italian afternoon food group. Ashley had forest fruit, limoni and pineapple and I had limoni and chocolate because I am boring. It was in the Penguin ice cream parlour and it was great.

People who believe Italians have a natural sense of style have probably not been to Cattolica. Neither of us is fashion conscious but we did spend an amusing hour mocking the atrocious fashion errors promenading up and down outside the bars. Bright yellow patent high heels worn with nothing that matched them and the lady in various clashing shades of red were probably the winners.

Tomorrow the plan is to ride the last hour into Ancona and get a ferry to Igoumenitsa.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb