Day 5: Lecce


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania
August 6th 2014
Published: August 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Lecce is also called "the golden city" because all architecture is built from a stone,which gives the streets a golden glow. I loved the vintage automobiles passing through the streets,as well as the great number of bikers. Lecce is very small and extremely charming. After taking some time to have an iced cappuccino, I continued to explore the little streets and almost got lost ( I'm getting good at this). But it makes this trip a lot more interesting and I get to practice my Italian (as well as hand gestures), to find my way back to the bus stop!
Alberobello is the next stop! This city is famous for the unique ,"Trulli", homes: round,stone structures with cone-like roofs. Roof tops are often designed with various religious symbols. The name "Trulli" comes from the Latin word "Trulla", which means "cupola."


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb