Day 26 - Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
May 13th 2011
Published: May 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

OK. I didn't catch the 9:45 ferry. I kind of misjudged the amount of time it would take me to walk from my hostel to the harbour. Oh well, I got on the 10:45 instead.

The ferry ride was nice. Some beautiful views of the coastline surrounding Sorrento, and then of the island as we approached.

When I arrived I decided not to get a bus to the town from the harbour (mainly because I didn't want to wait 20 miutes for one to arrive) so I walked up to the town. God that was hard work. Very steep hill. Nice, but steep.

Anyway, after getting to the top and sitting down and catching my breath I went for a wonder around Capri town. Very picturesque. I then caught a bus to the island's second town, anacapri, and went for a wonder. I decided to walk down a road that I thought would leave to a bench overlooking the sea. I walked down for twenty mintues or so then realised that I had no idea whatsoever where this was leading me and whether this would actually lead me anywhere. So I decided to turna round, however I hadn't quite appreciated the steepness of the hill I walked down. It was steep. Took me between 30-40 minutes to walk back up. I had lunch sitting on a bench in a nice square in the town before heading onwards. At the end of anacapri I saw a sign for the blue grotto. The blue grotto is the island's most famous tourist attraction. Essentially it is a cave where thsun casts a blue glow over the rocks. I started to walk down then realised I had no idea where I was going. So I turned around and walked back up to the town. I had no intention of actually going in to the grotto anyway as it costs 12.50 for about 5 minutes of being whisked through very quickly. I had another wonder around Capri town before getting on a ferry and walking back to the hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb