Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Wednesday morning March 12th I took a 6 hour train straight from Pisa to Naples. Once in Naples I transfered to the subway and took a one hour train to Sorrento. I spent Wednesday evening checking into my hostel and exploring Sorrento. I decided to use Sorrento as my base for day trips to Capri, Pompeii, and Amalfi. Sorrento is about the size of Siena and is located on the bay of Naples (no beach though, only harbors). The first thing I noticed was how much more outgoing and nicer the Italians were in Sorrento compared to Siena. They were much more willing to take the time to listen to my very broken Italian.

Sorrento's claim to fame is its lemons and limoncello, both of which I tried. They have every lemon product you could possibly imagine: perfume, chocolate, drinks, soaps, pastas, etc.

Wednesday I visited Sorrento's duomo (very, very small compared to the other duomos I've seen thus far), I walked around Piazza Tazzo (the main square), and I walked down to the harbor. (see pictures)

I spent the majority of the next three days traveling to Capri, Pompeii, and Amalfi (see other entries), but Friday afternoon I returned to Sorrento early to visit the local lemon and orange grove and taste the homemade limoncello.

I also met some great people that were staying in the same hostel as me. I met two girls, from Australia and Canada, that were working in Switzerland for the semester, and a couple from Lawrence, KS, and a photography teacher from Switzerland. I got to cook and eat dinner with at least one of them every night, so I was never really alone.

I'm definitely very glad that I chose to go by myself for a couple of days. I got some time away from the people I've spent everyday with for the past two months, I got to meet some awesome people, and I proved to myself that I am truly okay on my own!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Marina PiccoliniMarina Piccolini
Marina Piccolini

Small Harbor
Marina Grande Marina Grande
Marina Grande

Large Harbor
View from Piazza TazzoView from Piazza Tazzo
View from Piazza Tazzo

You can't see them in this picture, but to the right is the oldest set of steps in Sorrento (dating back to 500 AD).
Grove Cont.Grove Cont.
Grove Cont.

Me, Shantal, and Megan (the girls I met from KS) trying Limoncello for the first time.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb