Cave Canem... Beware of Dog (in Pompeii of course)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
December 30th 2010
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Town Square - PompeiiThe Town Square - PompeiiThe Town Square - Pompeii

The Town Square - Pompeii
Ahhh the trek to Pompeii.
It was epic. That is all.

Some people said I couldn't do it alone, others called me mad.
Do I listen? Do I ever? Of course I bloody didn't... and so I trekked it solo from Rome to Napoli(Naples) on the Eurostar. Then caught the local train to Pompeii. I really enjoyed the time to myself and being able to remind myself that I can actually travel alone. I've done it before, nothing has changed.

The scenery was just magnificent on the way down through the mountain ranges. I got to have a quick browse around Napoli Centrale before hopping on the local to Pompeii. This train ride took me right past Mt Vesuvius so I got a good look at the rock before the ruins.

Jared had pre-warned me that Pompeii was run by the mafia, so I was very cautious about everything I did. In actual fact, I found the people down there much more warming and helpful. When I said 'No, I don't want a tour guide through Pompeii', they simply smiled and replied 'Grazie'. Pleasant.

The ruins man, far out they were just astonishing. I remember my initial
The ForumThe ForumThe Forum

Pompeii - near the Venus Altar
reaction just being one of awe. I couldn't believe that I was standing inside a city that had been demolished in minutes. The artefacts were all so well kept and bodies preserved in such a lifelike way that you couldn't help but be curious about their lives and stand and stare for minutes on end. There was so much to see, over 140 acres of it, and so I ended up running at times because I was not going to miss a thing.

I like the stray dogs, the amphitheaters, the building done up to replicate how it would have been before the eruption and also the collection of plaster casts around the place that showed people in the exact positions they were found and died in. Crazy crazy stuff. I took thousands of photos and am really excited for the next time I get to teach junior History!! Haylz... get on that would ya?

Arrivederci, Lexi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Plaster casts and pottery Plaster casts and pottery
Plaster casts and pottery

Pompeii - storeroom with artefacts found during excavations
Cobblestone streets Cobblestone streets
Cobblestone streets

Cobblestone streets - Pompeii
The gardens - PompeiiThe gardens - Pompeii
The gardens - Pompeii

The garden slopes near the Temple of Venus


4th January 2011

Super jealous-ness being experienced right here! Amazing Lex! xx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb