Naples, hate it or love it.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
September 28th 2022
Published: January 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Italy has never been an economically wealthy land since the Lira time. From fascist to crisis, as my dearest friend beautifully described. And now this innocent land is in the hand of a hideous Roman fascist. Another soul which brought so much hatred to the world! Bright future ahead for Italy, my arse! My feminism refuses to be silent as she won the election. I vouch for female leaderships. I have high respect for female leaders, not her. I am neither left, right or centre but find her regime disturbing. She's the perfect example of a Roman fuckwit chosen by a bunch of Italian fruit loops. It seems that she needs a constant reminder that her nation is geographically in the South, where Northern and Western Europe continue throwing money to revive it. Italy first, she says. NO! how about paying off the public debts first, then come up with better a slogan!

A female with an angry face, also when smiling, resembles some of the Roman girls I had seen wandering around Rome, smoking. Those types are usually hanging out in Trastevere looking high and/or totally wasted. In contrast, Milan girls are mostly well-maintained, poise, and appreciate styles. Many part of Italy including Milanese themselves disliked them and some may have called them snobs because they won't settle for less and give no chance for grubs or losers. Why should they?! To be fair, not Roman chicks are those types! There are a few nonsmokers, well-dressed with happier faces somewhere. The differences between the Northern Italians and the rest of the country are obvious.

I can hear someone I knew muffling at a considerable disagreement. "Che cazzo fai Julie šŸ¤Œā€. thatā€™s another thing though....most Italians cannot handle comments or criticisms. They will spend hours justifying themselves and protect their belief of being the best! Aside from the best, thereā€™s also the idea of everything in and from Italy is best. I once had to listen to a ridiculous statement that Italian ā€translationā€œ (they meant the TV dubbing services) is the best! A nonsense statement that gets anyone into hours of circular argument! Silence was my response. I decided that the best way to deal with such a mind is to ignore them. Not because they are right, but because my time and energy are too precious for such a silly conversation. My heart goes out to those who think that they are the best.

Okay, letā€™s move on from the Italian mentality and the absurd ideology of Meloniā€™s stupid party.

Just like every nation, Italy has its downs and many ups to back it up. The country is rich with nature, culture, and many aspects to make you return and explore more if you are a fan of Italy like I was.

Those I told about how passionate I was about the country cringed. In their experiences, yeah Italy is a nice country but Italians are bloody rude! Making them not want to return and would rather be in Spain or Portugal, where the people are polite. Itā€™s not the first time I heard such a comment. I didnā€™t know to respond because I was so blindly in love with the country and have never paid much attention until the very recently. I suppose when you love something, you disregard many important things. Only when that love vanishes, you start observing your surrounding more. In my recent visits, I began to pay more attention and noticed that manners like please and thank you, not often used when ordering at a cafe or restaurant.

My love for this country has faded over time, which I think is great! That only means it is now my time to evolve, discover a new country and fall back in love with it. I had a massive crush on Italy over Spain for many years. Throughout these times, I taught myself to learn more about the culture, I hired a private Italian tutor, I paid frequent visits to the country, participated in the Italian community in Amsterdam and even considered of investing a property up in the north.

Milan remains my favourite, a city where fashion meets financial districts. Oh, I love fashion!!! I fly there occasionally with empty luggage and return with loads of fashion goods. To be clear, I am against eating disorders to fit fashion, fashion should fit people.

The country offers many things I appreciate, including items that are not my favourites, such as sweets/cakes for breakfast, espresso, heavy meat and dairy consumption. Another thing to stay away from was the Italian boys, also known as the mummy boys. Those boys are very dramatic and talk too much! A well put together woman like me is a definite no match. For them, I wonā€™t be motherly enough. I am too strong, too independent, too harsh, too well maintained, too whatever!

My travel experiences around Italy are mostly pleasant because I chose to see it that way. It didn't bother me when random Italians greeted me "ni hao" in many places so often. It also didn't bother me when a few Italian restaurant staff said noodles? as I walked pass them when they wanted to sell me spaghetti. I gave these people a genuine smile and a polite no.

None of these behaviours mattered or was offensive to me being Indonesian of non-Chinese descent, Australian & Dutch citizens. My exotic look is deceiving, I could be a Mexican or Peruvian or other mixed descents, but I get it that most Italians think all Asians are Chinese. Education matters! By that, I don't mean passing textbooks grades at a uni! School cannot fix stupid or ignorant minded alike. In my many years of experience with Italians, their excessive talk can irritate the ears but they can be kind and accommodating once you give yourself the chance to get to know them. They are also loyal once you have formed the bond with them.

I do not share much about my European travel stories, but Napels is once in a lifetime story. Since I ventured to Napels recently, I think this city deserves to be more on travel blogs. I kept putting off Napels at the bottom of my travel list until I thought, what the heck, especially with all the shit going down in Europe. I decided, why not spend the last bits in Napels on my way back from Ischia island.

I like Napels despite its perceptions, what I see is what I get. A day in Naples was quite an experience. There are no other cities in Europe like it. Yes, it is a dump, this place wouldn't be Napels without garbage, urine smell, dog craps left uncleaned, beggars of all kinds including cigarettes, homeless everywhere, and busy scooters. This is Napels, expect the unexpected.

The city has been buzzing with many American tourists since the Eat Pray Love movie. I find Napels is very original, it did not portray cleanness and safety like many other touristic cities. Naples markets were awesome too! I really liked seeing those little alleys where clothes and sheets were hung across buildings. I loved seeing a nonna dropping a basket down the balcony so she wouldn't have to come down for a loaf of bread.

I also find the Napoleons foods are tastier than some places in the central or northern of Italy. I'm not too fond of sweets, so a slice of Torta Caprese is a big NO. I had tasted it before, and I really did not enjoy how much sugar was in it. While in Naples, I also noticed a few international restaurants besides ramen and sushi. Such a significant improvement, given that comfort zone, is such a big deal for most Italians.

I dressed like a homeless myself in Napels to not draw too much attention to inviting the pickpockets. I also did not have much interaction with the locals for the sake of playing it safe. Those who have shared their unpleasant experiences in Italy, including my Italian friends, have warned me not to visit Naples. Incredibly, it turned out that I had a wicked time there, and not once did I feel unsafe. I was only there for a day, which is more than enough to explore the entire city. In addition to that, I am interested more in cultural activities rather than getting hammered in the night scenes. For me, wise travel choices keep troubles away.

What is there to do in Naples? Do what the Italians do.. eat sweets for brekky, carbs and meats for lunch and dinner, drink wine and sit in a square moan about life. Be sure to be loud like them and throw those hand gestures while at it. Go make Napels next on the list😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



3rd January 2023

Liked šŸ˜Š
5th January 2023

Hi Jules. I like your blog. Interesting journey. Carlos
5th January 2023
Camo...Juliorra

My sexy lady, ain't no homeless at all :p xxx
5th January 2023

In my own experience, I won't come back the second round though.
9th January 2023

Beautiful Julie šŸ’•šŸ’‹
26th January 2023

LMAO! I like how you tell it as it is. I enjoyed reading your story. Keep it up Girl :)

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb