Barocco Villas in Herculaneum


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Ercolano
June 9th 2010
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The villas of the noble families in Herculaneum (Ercolano) are really numerous. There are known about 200 of them and the Association of the Vesuvian Villas trys to attract attention to about 120 of them. 3 best buildings and gardens are in reconstruction and 2 of them is possible to visit.

In my previous post here I told I wanted to visit them on June, 6, during the National Day of Italian Villas. Tha sun was shyning, I found a friend who wanted to come with me (I'm afraid sincerely to walk there alown and was happy when she said me she wants to walk there together)



On my photo is Royal palace situating not far from the very first in Italy raylway station opend in 1839. It's the building on the left here:



The best and the only visitable villas are Villa Campolieto and villa Ruggero that you can see on the photo.



My reports about that trip you can find in my blog The Marvelous World of Travel where I just told about some parts of our walk and will continue the story this week.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb