I ACTUALLY saw Jason Spezza


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Capri
May 29th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A guest entry by Neil:

While James was lounging about in Positano for a couple more days, Amy and I took the short trip to the island of Capri where we were greeted by sharp cliffs, lush greenery, and light blue water. The island is composed of two villages. These would be Capri and Anacapri. Anacapri (where we stayed) is farther into the island, and although this sounds like a bad thing, it is MUCH less touristy.

It was already evening when we were finally settled into our hotel, so Amy and I grabbed a picnic dinner and headed out to a spot that was recommended by our hotel manager . All in all, it was very fun. Our picnic experience consisted of a lighthouse, lots of cliffs, an endless ocean, a swim, sandwiches, wine in juice boxes (no straw included), and a setting sun. Fantastic.

The next day we decided to try and get to the very famous and very popular Blue Grotto. It's basically a cave filled with neon blue light due to the reflection of sunlight off the very white sand at the bottom of the cave. Or at least that's what I thought I heard from our guide. I had never seen anything like it, and I was almost decapitated going into the cave since the entrance is quite low, so it was quite the memorable experience. To top it off, I saw Jason Spezza as we were leaving. That's right. He arrived in a private Taxi, with a very blond, very skinny girl with giant sunglasses. Probably a celebrity of some sort. Anyhoo, I was the only one in the crowd who needed a new pair of pants, so Jason didn't even notice that he had been recognized. I really wanted to share the news with someone, but I kept running into Americans for the next couple of days who weren't familiar with this particular elite NHL centreman. I'm glad James appreciated it.

After the grotto, we took a chair lift to the top of Capri Island, hiked down, walked around and explored for a few hours and went to a fancy restaurant near the ocean. They gave us a free appetizer that consisted of a bread and salted seaweed mixture and what I'm pretty sure were fresh oysters (wikipedia and google image search didn't really help me). It was nummy. I had delicious smoked salmon accompanied by onions, capers, and buttered toast for a main course while Amy ate her lemon sauce pasta out of a grapefruit-sized lemon. Nifty. Then they gave us a free shot of Limoncello. It was definitely one of the better meals I've had while traveling. I FINALLY felt like I was eating something not necessarily prepared for an ignorant tourist. No offense Mom, but you would have finally had some competition at this particular restaurant in Capri.

The next day we took a fairy to Naples and met up with James. That was the extent of our separate little trip to Capri. Oh, Naples was dirty and smelly and gross.

Did I mention I saw Jason Spezza?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb