Mediterranean Island Hop


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
June 4th 2007
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Pompeii, I returned to Amalfi along the famous Amalfi Coast road, said by some to be the most beautiful road in the world. As it was a weekend, the road was clogged with four-wheeled tourist traffic. This isn’t a problem in Italy on a motorcycle as you simply straddle the center line, select the appropriate gear…and motivate. I must have passed a thousand cars stuck in traffic…two wheels are the only way to go!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Private HomesPrivate Homes
Private Homes

Private homes dot the landscape nestled on precarious perchs above the sea.
Tight QuartersTight Quarters
Tight Quarters

The Amalfi road strikes fear in the hearts of some, but it's not a problem on a motorcycle.
SalernoSalerno
Salerno

The city of Salerno, south of Naples clings to the side of a cliff like no city its size I’ve ever seen.
AmalfiAmalfi
Amalfi

Back in Amalfi, I took the time walking the town’s streets, trying to imagine the places my father had been. I believe this structure on the hillside may have been the convent where my father convalesced.
HotelHotel
Hotel

A view of the cliffside hotel I used during my stay in Amalfi.


Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb