Amalfi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
July 8th 2007
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday my bike tour ended with a ferry ride back to the mainland and the usual "stay-in-touch" sentiments. While everyone else on this trip was headed back to the States, I had a much more arduous journey.

Paulo had suggested going to Amalfi for a few days (and now that I'm here, I wholeheartedly agree), though he insisted on making the arrangements for me. Big mistake. I was supposed to take several trains and a ferry to get here and then ask for "James" at a travel agency called "Financial Tours". Of course, the whole scheme fell apart due to the vagaries of TrenItalia (like Alitalia, but without the turbulence), and after three train connections, I arrived exhausted in Salerno.

Unable to reach "James" or "Mr. Rafaelle" (the local fixer - how sketchy is that?), I simply checked into the first hotel I could find, the Park. It cost me only 65 euros, and while small, it was just what the doctor ordered.

Today I took the ferry to Amalfi - what a difference from Salerno! Not nearly as sketchy, and very family-friendly. After checking in to a very nice hotel, I hit the upscale (read - "pay") beach, which was hardly crowded, and spent the day reading on a lounge-chair. Very relaxing.

Now I'm going to play ugly American and have dinner at 6:30.

Eric

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb