Capri


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
June 25th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Capri Island HarbourCapri Island HarbourCapri Island Harbour

Holiday central for the rich and famous
The rich and famous know how to holiday - Capri is beautiful. We only had a day there (downside of being shepparded around in an organized tour). Got to see quite a bit though. We got on a boat tour around the island the minute we got off the ferry. I originally wasn't planning on visiting blue grotto (venus flytrap, tourist version). Couldn't help myself in the end though. It was just amazing watching these guys guide the tiny rowboats into miniscule hole. The entrance is completely covered by every wave, and the buys piloting the row boats have to time their entrance (via a pull-chain) perfectly. Oh yeah, did I mention that we had to lie flat down in the boat to avoid getting any limbs (or head) separated?

I chose to do things in a leisurely fashion in the afternoon. Spent a few hours at the beach, and then took the funicular up to Capri proper (no hiking up steps for me). Capri itself is cute, and shopping central. Name a designer brand, I can guarantee you it's crammed into the narrow main walkway. I didn't end up going up to Ana-Capri, but I was looking for a
Blue Grotto EntranceBlue Grotto EntranceBlue Grotto Entrance

Just to be clear, in this picture, the entrance is about 2/3 exposed. It doesn't get much bigger than that!
relaxing afternoon, and the views from Capri were gorgeous enough for me. I mentioned last times that lemons were a way of life here. I got a taste of it via lemon gelato. Oh My God.

Dinner tonight was at the campsite restaurant. Traditional and authentic (woodfired) pizza, in the Napoli style. I had a mushroom and ham one, with the other popular alternative being the famous Pizza Margarita (tomato sauce, basil, mozzerella cheese - the colours of the Italian flag). The pizza was good, although different from what I'm used too (apparently, authentic Napoli pizza is thin).

An early bed time is in order, as the bus leaves tomorrow morning at 7am sharp. From the activities a couple of people have planned, we might just be leaving a few behind...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Blue GrottoBlue Grotto
Blue Grotto

It's called "blue grotto" for a reason. The romans used it as a swimming place. I think that would have been quite nice.
Capri's SignatureCapri's Signature
Capri's Signature

Lover's Arch is actually quite small.
Capri ProperCapri Proper
Capri Proper

I could get used to having this kind of view.
Capri HarbourCapri Harbour
Capri Harbour

I want myself one of those....


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb