Mediterranean Island Hop


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Calabria
June 1st 2007
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a short 20 minute ferry ride, I was back on the Italian mainland in the boot tip. I rode through the Aspromonte National Park with its dark forest roads that reminded me a bit of Northern California. I later found out that this is where the Mafia goes to dispose of their dirty business. The road signs in this part of Italy are terrible and with me being a card carrying Luddite without a GPS, I was left to fend for myself. Eventually, I found my way and made it across the central mountain range to the southern side of the “toe”. In Bovalino, I find a decent hotel to stay for the night.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Straits of MessinaStraits of Messina
Straits of Messina

Sicily on the opposite side.
Shady ForestShady Forest
Shady Forest

Further into the Aspromonte National Park.
StiloStilo
Stilo

The town of Stilo


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb