June 21


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Bari
June 21st 2015
Published: July 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

June 21, 7:24 AM -- Our Lady of Rosary Catholic Church, Bari, Italy

The train ride was nice. Quiet--my partner never said a word--but nice. I'm running on quite a sleep deficit though. I've accumulated enough hours of unconsciousness, but it's all come in 30-60 minute spurts. No deep sleep. My goal for today is to stay awake until I'm on the overnight ferry to Patras . Then sleepytime.

Bari is quiet at 6AM on a Sunday. I walked around the city some. Beautiful buildings with almost cliche grandmothers on tall balconies sweeping, cleaning linens, and making small talk with other grandmothers on similarly tall balconies. This can't be real.

I need two things, besides sleep: (1) a Euro power converter since my phone and camera are about dead, and (2) a restroom. It's early on Sunday though, so the only place that's open is this small church. It's nice. Looks like a mass is about to break out though. People are doing this strange thing with a cart that appears to hold the offering: they pick up something (wafer?) with tongs, then place it into a shallow dish. Some kind of preparation for communion?


• I wish I could get some damn coffee instead of this espresso nonsense
• I'm hoping the relaxing part of the vacation is yet to come



June 21, 10:15 AM -- Spops Cafe, Bari, Italy

Mass was brief. And I thought the Italians were supposed to be religious!

Spent a lot of time aimlessly wandering around downtownish Bari. Went to a castle: "Norman-something" but there wasn't much to do or see since it was under heavy construction.

Walked the length of what I assume is Bari's Rodeo Drive looking for an electronics store so I could get a main power converter. Finally found one (one street over, naturally) so I ducked into an internet cafe to recharge my phone and camera before more aggressively exploring Bari. The ocean is RIGHT THERE and I still haven't seen it.

Apparently if you order a "caffe Americano" they give you something resembling good old fashioned real American coffee. Go figure.


June 21, 11:09 AM -- Spops Cafe, Bari, Italy

Simultaneously, a couple entered with their young, possibly challenged kid, as well as a couple of ladies, each with their own small, excited, very loud dog. The kid is now doing his best imitation of a dog whenever they bark. I just wanted coffee and electricity.


June 21, 11:25 AM -- Spops Cafe, Bari, Italy

One has to wonder what the hell these women are thinking. One of them has a dog that's clearly agitated by the other. And they're walking, shopping together. They're halfway to Naples and I can still hear that damn dog.


June 21, 6:27 PM -- Random B&B, Bari, Italy

I spent a good deal of time up until now wondering when something was going to go completely wrong. Admittedly, I was flying a little close to the sun with my itinerary getting from Seattle to Naxos: SEA-ORD, ORD-CDG, Paris to Milan, Milan to Bari, Bari to Patras, Patras to Athens, Athens to Naxos. each step could be undone with a minor snafu somewhere up the chain. But I always figured it'd be someone else's fault when it falls apart.

After leaving Spops I did some more wandering. Visited a few more cafes, grabbed a few more americanos and one gelato. Did a lot of walking around Bari center, and trekked north to the fairgrounds. The grounds were closed of course, but while I was there I got a good taste of the sea (literally a few times thanks to some strong winds). I had a lot of time to kill before my ferry, so I indulged and walked along a sea wall for a very nice view of the harbor.

I could see ferries in port. One of them left. I noted that it was the same company that would be running my ferry out at 8:15. Heh!

I walked back eventually. Sat at a cafe and asked some English girls for wi-fi info, which segued into idle conversation. Cool as a cucumber. I opened up my notebook to look over my itinerary. Ferry leaving Bari at 8:15 PM. Yep. For some reason I also pulled out the email confirmation I'd printed. Ferry leaving at 1:30 PM.

What.

I didn't really know what to make of it. The confirmation clearly said 1:30 PM. How did I think it was 8:15?


Leg 1 Date/Time: 21 June 2015 1330


Dammit. I'd read the year as the time. To make matters worse I'd also written down "arrives at 1:30 PM " in my notes which is actually within 15 minutes of when it WOULD arrive if it left at 8:15.



I hurried to the port to confirm. Yep. The security guard told me the ferry office is closed, and that the next ferry out would be 7:00 PM tomorrow.

I walked back into the downtown labyrinth, looking for lodging. A nice little abuelita led me to a nearby B&B. Called the number (risky since it was the only call my cell could make with the available battery, and cafes with power outlets were closed by then). The lady gave me a nice room for €45, €50 after I asked her to keep the change.

So I'm here for the night. Things could be worse. It's nice to finally shower and recharge devices both electronic and fleshy, and to sleep in a real bed. Naxos can wait one more day. Now to find dinner...




New ferry info:

Bari - Patras
June 22, 7:30 PM
Booking: xxxxxxxx
Ticket: xxxxxxxx

Pireaus - Naxos (SeaJets)
June 24, 7:01 AM
SeaJets ref: xxxxxxxx
SeaJets ticket: xxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb