My Winterwatch - The Garden


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
January 17th 2024
Published: January 18th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Winterwatch is back on the BBC. I've been doing a mini-winterwatch in my garden over the last few days. Practising with the camera.

All the photos were taken from my kitchen, either at the back door or through the window for the more cautious crows, except the long-tailed tit, which was in the front garden. By the time I got the camera they had moved onto my neighbours garden.

With the recent sub-zero temperatures and snowfalls, the smaller birds were happy for me to stand at the back door and snap them. I don't actually keep a list, but I have seen an impressive range of species, including those flying over, from my house.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Long-tailed titLong-tailed tit
Long-tailed tit

Couldn't quite get to the camera quickly enough.
Coal tit.Coal tit.
Coal tit.

Not a great photo, but it shows the white patch on the nape (back of the head) which quickly confirms it's a coal tit.
Great tit.Great tit.
Great tit.

For comparison with the coal tit.
Starlings.Starlings.
Starlings.

Drinking, or is this the dawn chorus?
Blue tit.Blue tit.
Blue tit.

This one is ringed. It's almost two years since I ringed any birds in the garden. The last blue tit I ringed was in December 2020. So chances are, this bird is almost four years old, which would be pretty impressive for a blue tit. It could of course have traveled here from somewhere else.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb