The why and the where


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Wicklow
May 7th 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Jenny


Singapore photos 1937Singapore photos 1937Singapore photos 1937

The Dutch Wife, High Street, Indian Temple, Tiger Balm
Last year, I unearthed a travel diary which my great grandfather wrote about a trip around the world that he did in 1937. It is amazing! It has 300 pages of detailed accounts of his 6 month voyage, with photographs to illustrate the eloquent language.

And yes - you’ve guessed it - his great grand-daughter is planning on following in his footsteps over 70 years later. I want to experience and document how the world has changed and also how it hasn’t.

I’ve got three main aims:
1) To follow in the footsteps of my great grandfather and write a diary about my adventures, comparing and contrasting as I go. Perhaps with a radio program at the end of it.
2) To learn new recipes and taste new food in each place I visit. (I’m a cook and foodie)
3) To put together some resources on “A day in the life of a primary school child” in the countries I visit. (I’m a primary school teacher)

Inherent in all of the above is to have lots of fun and learn loads! Here is a rough outline though the exact dates and places have yet to fall into place.
Singapore description 1937Singapore description 1937Singapore description 1937

Chinese and their gold teeth


September - Orissa (India), Sri Lanka,
October - Singapore, Kuching (Borneo, Malaysia), Brisbane, Sydney, (Australia)
November - New Zealand, North Island
December - New Zealand, South Island, Fiji
January - Hawaii, L.A., San Francisco, Panama Canal
February - Florida, Cuba
March - Pompeii, Egypt

Perhaps you know
- of a really good restaurant that I should eat in
- a person I could learn a new recipe from
- a cookery school I should visit
- someone who’d like to have someone like me to visit
- a primary school teacher who’d like their class to take part in a small project
- some advice on what to do or see along the way
- a couch for me to sleep on
- information on what the places mentioned above were like in 1937

Please let me know if you do.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New Zealand photos 1937New Zealand photos 1937
New Zealand photos 1937

Franz Josef glacier 1937
New Zealand description 1937New Zealand description 1937
New Zealand description 1937

Climbing with Peter Graham on the Franz Josef glacier


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb