Finally a time to relax a bit


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Waterford
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Irish wake up callThe Irish wake up callThe Irish wake up call

Not just a few kegs either
Hi all,

Can't believe that I only have 2 days left in Ireland.

After I last wrote to you I ended up going on a pub crawl in Dublin with other backpackers. Only 9 of us so it was a great way to meet a few other people and see some of the local pubs including Dublin's smallest pub. Had a british person leading the tour, quite typical apparently.

The morning after was hilarious. I was staying in a hostel room with 10 others and we heard strange noises, I thought it was coming from the kitchen on the floor below, but one girl got up and looked out of the window. We couldn't believe what we saw. There were two trucks and 5 guys outside rolling empty kegs across the cobblestone road to get them to the truck to take them away. 8:00 in the morning. Only in Ireland! and really we just had to laugh about it.

Spent the day wandering again, went to St Patrick's Cathedrial figured couldn't go to Ireland without seeing something to do with St Patrick. Then caught the bus to Waterford to meet Collette. Very funny because neither of us
The small but fun pub crawl groupThe small but fun pub crawl groupThe small but fun pub crawl group

And yes it was raining outside - this taken as we were leaving #3
really had any idea of what each other looked like - so she text me to tell me what she was wearing, managed to find each other ok.

Staying with her is great, she is so relaxed and layed back about everything. Went out to a local pub when I arrived (after a real meal with vegetables!) to see some traditional music. The music wasn't bad but the singer thought he was a comedian as well, not a very good one i might add. He asked if anyone had any questions before he started singing so Collette yells out "Can you sing?" and I added "Can you prove it?" that worked because after that he actually started singing - we did have to leave mid song though other wise he would have been asking where we were going. We pretended we were going out for a cigarette, which was a great way to escape.

I have actually had the opportunity to sleep in while i have been here. 11:30 the frst day - really must be tired. Was first chance on the entire trip. Have spent two days walking around Waterford in the rain. Saw the museum and Reginald's Tower along with crystal factory. Met one of Greg's relations (Greg is my Aunty's partner who owns the Waterford pub out of Palmerston North). She was the tour guide at Reginald's Tower. She asked where I was from, I said NZ and she started talking about this relative who owns a pub called the Waterford in NZ - very small world.

Have spent today in Kilkenny and walked around Kilkenny Castle and the ground, very nice. Weather is better today although it did rain heavily just as I left the castle ground and cleared up just as quickly. That has been the story of my time in Ireland. The locals all carry umbrellas with them just in case. Was caught in Dublin in a down pour in the middle of nowhere. Was surprised when everyone around me pulled out the umbrellas. Reminds me of home really.

Have met some of Collette's sisters and am going for dinner at another one's tonight. Everyone over here is really friendly, but I have found that everywhere. Have been eating real meals with vegetables every night, also having a drink or two every night, a very sociable place. We are going to have a look around the country side tomorrow as Collette is not working and then will be catching the bus to Dublin on Sunday to get to the airport to go to Germany. The week has gone very very quickly and I'm now onto the last page of the calendar that I made up before I came away. Am looking forward to seeing everyone back at home and squeezing in as much as possible in the final 3 weeks.

Anyway bye for now, I hope you are all well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb