Off to see Aunt Anne


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Sligo » Sligo
May 27th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My alarm went off at 5:45am, I growled, turned it off, and forced myself to get up. I packed my things up in the dark and snuck out into a completely deserted Belfast. I walked to Victoria Station in Belfast only to find uot I needed to be at Central Station, 15 minutes walk. It was 6:30am and my train was 6:50am. I nearly ran and made it by 6:40am. This is when I'm thankful I'm only lugging around a 22lb backpack. Which is probably about 30 lbs now. I got to Dublin on a train that was so packed with suits that people were standing. It was raining out as we went past fields of sheep and countryside. It was very pretty. I arrived in Dublin at 9:30am and headed to the ticket window to validate my Eurorail Pass. Free train rides (or prepaid) train rides from now on! This will help me budge my money better because I misjudged prices of trains in Britina. The next train to Sligo didn't leave until 11:05 am, so I got a coffee and sat writing in my journal. The train was basically empty to Sligo. Very peaceful.
I arrived at Sligo rail station and, as Aunt Anne instructed, I went down the steps to the bus station. I could have sworn Aunt Anne told me I needed a bus to Valentine, so that's what I told the poor guy at the ticket window. He looked at me like I had 10 heads. There is no such thing. So I called my Aunt on the cellphone again, I swear she said Valentine, with a V. I was frustration the ticket guy, even though no one was behind me in line. Everyone else was quite capable of using the ticket machines. An elderly couple jumped in and tried to help, but these people were haivng a tough time with my accent. Aunt Anne said, the stop right after Clare Morris and I relayed this information to the ticket guy. In unison, everyone went, "O! Ballindine!" I was so confused. I was supposed to take the 64 bus. I saw a 64 bus pull in that said Derry across the front. Thank you mom for reminding me to pack my wits, because I know Derry is going north and I need to go south of Sligo. I went back to the poor ticket guy and sat with him until the bus I needed came and he pointed it out to me. I've never even taken a bus in teh states before, so this was an experience. I put my backpack in the under carriage and climbed on board. I grabbed a window seat because the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful. I was soon accompanied by a red headed Sligo guy named Allen. He was on break from University and visiting some friends in Galway. Interesting character. HE's got everythign all figured out and he's 19. He's studying Finance and studying abroad in Spain next year and Francfe the following year while doing internships. I asked him about all of the 'Vote Yes' 'Vote No' signs posted all over the roads. They have a vote for the Lisbon treaty coming up on June 6th. They're the only country in the EU taking a public vote. I thought that was really cool. He was also a gem because he made sure I got off at the right stop. (On the bus, you can never tell what town you're in). Small world, but he has family in Philadelphia. I gave him my information so he could get ahold of me next time he's in the states.
I got off in Ballindine, looked around and couldn't see my Aunt Anne anywhere! 'O no what if I got off at the wrong place' contniued to run through my head. Soon enought, there she was crossing the street. I almost didn't recognize her, she's lost so much weight since I last saw her around 5 or so years ago. She later informed me that she lost 3 stones, or close to 40lbs. She looked good! Not even close to her age because of a lack of wrinkles as well. Impressive considernig all she's been through. We exchanged hugs and got into the car. We drove 2 blocks and pulled into her driveway. Haha, I could have easily walked if she gave me directions! No need to wait so long at the stop. I felt reminded of Forrest Gump.
Aunt Anne has a knack for interior decorating. The place was beautiful. She showed me my room and we went next door to Anna Marie and Andrew's for dinner. The meal was amazing! Traditional English meal, I was told. I ate so many good things that I had no idea what they were. Hopefully it doesn't end up like Haggis in Scotland. Eat it, think its wonderful, and then find out it's intestihnes wrapped in stomach lining. Funny I'd eat it all over again though. I'm sure Anna Marie's meal was nothing like that though. We ate, and everyoen finished so much quicker than me. I had half my plate left by the time my cousins Sean, Maura and Tarrin (spelling?) had finished and left the table. This was weird for me because back home I'm usually finshed first.
Afterward I was treated to delious bpudding and creme with pound cake mixed in. So good. I snuck to try and do the dishes and they hid the soap on me! I eventually gave up and we went to the living room and sat around teh fire (made with turf... packed dirt from a bog). Aunt Anne left for the pub and Andrew, Anna Marie and I talked for hours about family, politics, my trip and other general things. Time flew. Before I knew it it was midnight and time for sleep. Anna MArie is one of the cutest people. She's also lost a lot of weight in comparision to the old pictures I remember from their visit to the USA around the time I was born.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb