Limerick to Adare


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick » Adare
July 12th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 52.5643, -8.79035

Adare, County Limerick, Republic of Ireland

On the way to Adare, Dylan started to talk about the lunch break we would be having in Adare. However, at times he is hard to understand due to his Welsh accent, and this was one of them. He mentioned something about Champaign something about a park and picnic and something about grabbing a sandwich. The bus pulled into a Tesco (like Costco) parking lot just on the outskirts of Limerick. When everyone began to get off the bus, I asked one of them just what was going on. Apparently we need to go inside, buy a packaged sandwich or food, and then when we get to Adare, we are going to sit in the park and eat the food and then toast those who have traveled with Insight before but are leaving Insight after this trip. This is not what I wanted to do. Since Dylan was already off buying the Champaign in Tesco, I spoke to the bus driver, Dave, about this. He stated that it was not mandatory to eat in the park and that there were many places I could eat in Adare. That made me feel much better. Adare is in County Limerick and this is one of the counties that Mom's ancestors might have come. So, when we arrived in Adare, after passing some artwork of farm animals, I let Dylan know that I was not joining them in the park. It took me two times in making him understand that I was striking out on my own in the town. He didn't seem to pleased. Oh, well. This trip is about discovery, not sitting with people that you travel with day in and day out! I am so happy that I did, because at the top of the street, there on the corner, was a delightful pub called “Collin's Bar.” Of course I had to eat there. And to make it all the better, they had Shepherd's Pie, Salad and fries (actually called fries not chips on the signboard)! I was able to sit in the bay window and watch the people go by and enjoy myself. I spoke with the barkeeper and asked about the Collins. She said that are many Collins still living in the area. After eating I strolled back to the bus area so that we could leave at 2pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb