Day 4 (belated)


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kilkenny » Kilkenny
August 11th 2016
Published: August 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Got an early start and headed by taxi to Celtic Rider. By the time all the paper work was done,orientation and clothes repacked it was after 1. We were given 2 BMW 700GS's like new. Paul took us on a ride to get us accustomed to the roads and the bikes. The first several miles made the Dragon look tame. Had about 900 curves. Supposedly following the Garmin would get us to our next hotel. Well, I could NOT get it to talk to me and driving on the wrong side of the road inhibited my looking at it...soo...a side trip or 2..may have been the first but not the last! We were going to stop at the Kilkenny Castle but it was closed when we arrived. Parked the bikes at the hotel and headed for a local bar. Deb and I had a Guinness but Ralf went straight for the Jameson. They do not make wine in Ireland so Ralf has switched drinks.

My hope is that my confidence in wrong way driving and a 700GS will get better. I have killed this bike more than I ever have in my 40 plus years of riding. Should have got the R1200GS. BMW managed to put the buttons in places I don't find right. Tomorrow will be another day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb