Exhaustive County Kilkenny


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kilkenny » Kilkenny
February 13th 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Co. KilkennyCo. KilkennyCo. Kilkenny

Brownshill Dolmen
This past weekend I did an exhaustive excursion of Co. Kilkenny. I started at a hostel in Kilkenny City and explored the City Centre and surrounding area. I saw I toured all the main buildings and attractions of Kilkenny City including several cathedrals and the Kilkenny Castle and art gallery. I dined at Chez Pierre French restaurant across from the hostel where I was staying. That evening at the hostel I spoke with a French girl in my room about where I wanted to travel in Kilkenny and my fascination with all the archaeology sites. We shared some cookies and wine and she told me she wants to pass an examination to lead small tours of French tourists in Ireland. She had to be familiar with the Irish sites between Carlow and Kilkenny, up through Rosscrea and Clonmacnois. I told her about my plans to walk to Thomastown and Stonyford to see Jerpoint Abbey, Kells Priory and the Kilree monastic site. She had never heard of these monuments/sites and was thrilled to learn about them and offered to drive there Sunday with me. Sunday morning we left for all the sites I wanted to see that are shown in my photographs.
Co. KilkennyCo. KilkennyCo. Kilkenny

St. Patrick's Ragged Tree
Sunday night we stayed at the hostel in Kilkenny City again. That evening Fabienne and I went to the pub across the street where three men were playing some amazing traditional music with their own twist. They ended the session with some Johnny Cash. Monday morning we went to the Rothe House in Kilkenny and we left toward Carlow. Carlow did not interest me, but I wanted to see the Brownshill Dolmen/Portal Tomb so Fabienne drove there with Jane Birken playing in the back of her Opel hatchback. We then drove up through several small towns and actually made in through four counties by the time we hit Rosscrea for a coffee break Monday night. Fabienne drove me back to Limerick, which was much appreciated considering the pouring rain. All said and done, I visited: the Black Abbey, St. Mary’s Cathedral, Kieran College, Kilkenny graveyard, Kilkenny Castle, John’s Priory, John’s Church. With Fabienne I visited: Thomastown and River Nore, Jerpoint Abbey, Mt. Juliet Golf Course and Ballylinch Stud, Kells Priory, St. Kieran’s Church, Mulline Mill, Kilree monastic site, St. Patrick’s Ragged Tree, St. Canice’s, Dunmore Caves, Jenkin’s house and forest, Brownshill Portal Tomb, New Leighlin, Killeshin Church ruins, Windy Gap,
Co. KilkennyCo. KilkennyCo. Kilkenny

Nore River
Stradbally and Timahoe round tower and ruins, Carlow and some other towns along the way home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Co. KilkennyCo. Kilkenny
Co. Kilkenny

Windy Gap


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb